What Secrets Are You Keeping?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by mscriv, Nov 9, 2011.

1. mscriv macrumors 601

mscriv

We all keep secrets, sometimes they are personal, sometimes they are professional, and sometimes they are relational. In fact, as I type this and then as you read it, I'm sure something is coming to mind that is being hidden, protected, or kept to yourself.

Why are you keeping your secrets? Are you afraid for others to know the truth? Are you respecting the confidence of someone? Are you bound by legal reasons?

Of course as a licensed therapist I am bound by confidentiality and thus I have many "professional" secrets that I am not allowed to share with anyone. However, I must admit, that I do carry personal secrets as well. Some are confidences with close friends, some are personal failings that I don't want to admit, and some are honor based like those from my college fraternity.

How about you, what secrets are you keeping and why? Even more importantly, are your secrets "healthy" or are they hurting you?

2. mscriv thread starter macrumors 601

mscriv

Wow, 230+ views in the past hour and a half with no posts. Hmm... what are you people hiding? ;)

Let me clarify, if you didn't pick up on it from my original post, I'm not asking you to reveal your secrets, just share that you do have them and why. If you're brave enough to explore whether they are helpful or hurtful that would be interesting as well.

For example, my work secrets are not hurtful, but they have made general communication with my spouse difficult. It's hard to answer the "how was your day honey" question when you can't talk about it.

3. waloshin macrumors 68040

waloshin

4. mscriv thread starter macrumors 601

mscriv

Wow, the depth of your insight and willingness to engage in the discussion as posed are astounding. I was wondering who would be the first to post such nonsense.

5. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

h1r0ll3r