What should I do with this POS 3GS?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by staccato83, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. staccato83 macrumors 6502a

    staccato83

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #1
    Ok, my phone has been acting weird lately. It is showing that I have full signal, but I am getting all of these error messages in various programs. I have restored the phone and I am still having this problem. So do you think this is a problem with the phone or a problem with my service? I never had this problem before with my 3G.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #2
    I'll take it off your hands.

    If you don't want to take advantage of my generosity, I would recommend bringing it into your local Apple Store with copies of the photos you posted in your Photo App to show the Genius. They'll take care of you (hopefully)
     
  3. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #3
    Could be your service. Your not running hacked carrier files are you?
     
  4. staccato83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    staccato83

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #4
    Nope. Completely stock firmware.

    EDIT: And another one...

    [​IMG]
     
  5. moka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

    Where you ever running hacked Carrier files? Jailbroken on older phone or current phone?
     
  6. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #6
    You can try turning off 3g to see if that helps when it happens. What's your location? They might be doing upgrades.
     
  7. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
  8. View macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    #8
    Sounds like an ATT network problem, but I'm not sure if that's the case since you have never had problems with your 3G.
    It could be that there are many new iPhone users, so you guys are competing for the bandwidth (?).
     
  9. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #9
    Yeah I know! No other ISP has ever had any kind of outage right?
     
  10. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #10
    Go directly to the Genius Bar. Do not pass Go. Do not collect $200.
     
  11. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #11
    They have for a short time maybe during the day or something and then it works again.

    I have had NO 3G service in this great city of Denver for the past two days. I have never had a cell service provider do that before.
     
  12. staccato83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    staccato83

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #12
    No hacked carrier files whatsoever. I did jailbreak my 3G before I sold it, but I already restored this phone and set it up as a new phone rather than from a back up.
     
  13. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
  14. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #14
    That's what we call "more bars in more places."
     
  15. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #15
    They never said what you could do with those bars.
     
  16. staccato83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    staccato83

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #16
    Yeah, no kidding.

    The weird thing is that I actually DO have full bars. I made a Genius appointment for tomorrow so we will see what they have to say. I'm sure I will be sent home and told to restore. :rolleyes:
     
  17. aaron11193 macrumors regular

    aaron11193

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Karumba/Cairns/Charters Towers, QLD, Australia
    #17
    EDIT: ok wtf, there was some random post right there ^^ just before advertising apps in the app store...
     
  18. realmcenter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #18
    Thankfully I have two within a block of my apartment. Helps a lot when trying to recover from phone issues. And while I was at one of them tonight, I had the continuing joy of watching my 3G signal go up to full and yet not be able to use any network apps until it dropped back to EDGE. In my apartment I have to have it on wifi.
     
  19. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #19
    Lucky you, I tried to make one today and the only one they had was on the 4th. Like that's how I want to spend my forth of July.
     
  20. staccato83 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    staccato83

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #20
    Are you taking your phone in for the same problem?

    In regards to your earlier suggestion of turning 3G off, I just tried that and it fixed all of my problems. So I guess 3G must be out in my area... but why would it still show full bars of 3G on the phone though?
     
  21. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #21
    No I have a dust under the glass problem.

    They might be working on the systems. They are support to be upgrading the 3g service, that might be why you are seeing outages.
     
  22. Nicholas.C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #22
    Click "reset" in cellular network settings... that's what I did.

    Or you may have the wrong settings..
     
  23. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #23
    Yours is the 22 post, I think that's been mentioned a few times already.
     
  24. Nicholas.C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #24
    yup, maybe but I didn't read the thread.
     
  25. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #25
    Your loss.
     

Share This Page