What the iOS 4 On The iPad Be Like?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by yuriyturri, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. yuriyturri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
  2. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
  3. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #3
    Like the iPhone 4 but without a phone. Can we now close another useless and repeated thread?
     
  4. GadgetAddict macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #4
    It will be like everything you've ever dreamed of and even more!!!

    Your iPad will now print, run 40 apps in the background, have folders where you can put unlimited apps, 10 apps on the dock, info on the lockscreen.... heck, the jailbreakers will go out of business!!!!


    ...maybe not...
     
  5. skate71290 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Then what the hell is taking so bloody long?
     
  6. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #6
    Considering you list of Mac equipment, I will assume you are not being serious with your statement.
     
  7. Nishi100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #7
    It'll may be previewed in mid September, and Steve will say:" iOS4 can run on the current iPad, (but very rubbishy)."

    For example: lets say, you open Safari and open the Mac Rumours website then switch to a radio app to change the channel; when you switch back to Safari, the page would have been cleared out of RAM. Because of the larger screen, the web pages will, naturally, take up more RAM because the images have to be downloaded in a larger resolution (than iPods and iPhones - but not the iPhone 4 [retina display]). However, if apple uses virtual memory then this problem will be slightly better.

    What I am trying to say is 256mb of RAM is not enough.
     
  8. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Same as iPhone OS 4 on the iPhone 3GS.
     
  9. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #9
    Simple. Dont upgrade when it comes out. This will save about a million whiny, complaining threads right off the bat.
     
  10. Nishi100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #10
    Even in iOS3 for iPad there is a tab refreshing problem, because of the lack of RAM.

    As for the OP question (all speculation):
    Multitasking - Same as iPhone / iPod Touch - like widgets on a mac - the whole screen slides up.

    Folders - Somewhat the same to iPhone / iPod Touch; however, Apple has more resolution to play with, therefore the screen doesn't need to slide up ever time you open a folder.

    Springboard Background - Maybe allow different background for each orientation.
     
  11. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #11
    If it makes it so the App Store doesn't have to completely reload and lose your place every time you hit the "back" button, I'll be happy.
     
  12. EthanNixon macrumors 6502a

    EthanNixon

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    256gb of ram would be way more than possible.

    256mb of ram is more than sufficient for a mobile device to multitask if done properly.
     
  13. Nishi100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #13
    So, you can hold 9 heavy pages on Safari without any of them refreshing?!
     
  14. nhlducks35 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #14
    256GB of RAM isn't enough :eek:?!
     
  15. Nishi100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #15
    HAHA - didn't see that - changed thanks.
     
  16. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #16
    In all seriousness:

    • Multitasking
    • All the general stuff that came with the iPhone 4.0
    • Might go straight to 4.1

    I doubt much extra will be added than is already on the iPhone except for some bug fixes etc.. Maybe something will happen, who knows, we'll see what apple does.
     
  17. mklnk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #17
    It will be pretty good, but also a little awesome. They will make it better but at the same time not make it too different. It will have new features and be really fast and easy to learn; but don't worry, they'll make it good. I'm just hoping they don't make it dumb or stupid.
     
  18. redman042 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #18
    Obviously it will be like OS 4 on the iPhone, but I'm hopeful they'll optimize better for the iPad by dealing with the memory issues, occasional Safari crashing, and make some other iPad-specific improvements. Only time will tell. Right now, no one knows zip about OS4 on the iPad.
     
  19. heavy2healthy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #19
    ram is cheap why did they give such a pitful amount? I love my ipad but I dont see it multitasking well. Its the apple mission plan Im convinced to make products that are just good enough so you have to upgrade again real soon.
     
  20. Dr Kevorkian94 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SI, NY
  21. EthanNixon macrumors 6502a

    EthanNixon

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #21
    If optimized, I am sure we will be able to do this with iOS4.
     
  22. iphone1105 macrumors 68020

    iphone1105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #22
    WOW, you're convinced of this? you didnt think this all up yourself did you?:rolleyes:
     
  23. Nishi100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #23
    They can optimise the application: Safari; however, they cannot optimise webpqges for example:

    iPad, by default(no apps running)150mb RAM

    Then launch Safari and open MR - 100 left

    Open more tabs - let's say evey tab is 50mb then you open 3 tabs then the RAM will go to 0 in which the iPad crashes. So Apple flushes one of the tabs to spare RAM. Unless Apple uses Virtual Memory then this will keep happening.
     
  24. mklnk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #24
    Then why can I open 6 or 7 tabs in Atomik with no problem?
     
  25. Nishi100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #25
    A few reasons:
    1) The webpages aren't that heavy (Don't use as much RAM)

    2) Atomic web browser [I think] essentially saves the page when you switch tabs so when you go back to a tab then it loads it from the hard drive instead of RAM. However flash storage is slower than RAM, so you will notice some lag when switching (blank screen for a few seconds). Also, constantly writing to flash storage will reduce it's life.

    3) Try opening the same pages in Safari.

    4) Can you post the web pages?
     

Share This Page