What version of Windows with Parallels

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MapleOne, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. MapleOne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    Hey guys

    I need some advise...

    So I have a new Mac but I also have a few bits of software that require windows. I just bought the new Parallels but am so far undecided on what version of windows to install.

    I have XP, but do not want to install it because support for it will eventually go the way of the dodo bird. Vista is out of the question so that leaves me with Windows 7.

    Now I guess I need the full version of Windows because on a Mac I cannot upgrade a new install. Having looked at all the Windows 7 versions I have come to the conclusion that I would like WINDOWS 7 STARTER because I don't need any of the advanced features (or the bloat) of 7 Home Premium.

    What are you guys installing and where can I buy Windows 7 Starter, I cannot find it in the stores.
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Starter is for developing countries or OEMs with netbooks. Here in the US (or Canada), all you get is Pro, Home and Ultimate (and if you are business Ultimate-Ultimate; which is dubbed Enterprise)
     
  3. MapleOne thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #3
    Yeah, I saw it on a netbook.

    I think that would be the ideal choice for Mac clients because we don't need all the windows stuff.

    DO you think Microsoft would listen?

    Do you think a computer shop could sell a copy of starter?
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    1. Listen? They never, unless forced to by cataclysms like Vista or court mandates.

    2. Like I said, no. It's only for 3rd World Countries.
     
  5. mscriv macrumors 601

    mscriv

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #5
    The OP is from Canada, doesn't that count? :p (Sorry, had to do it)

    Depending on the software you need to use I would probably just go with XP for now. It's stable and you know it will work with the software you currently have. If your circumstances change in the future then upgrade later when prices have come down. Don't spend money now that you don't have to.
     

Share This Page