What will happen if black SS scratches?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by Blazinbell, Apr 18, 2015.

1. Blazinbell macrumors member

Will the black coating come off? Or is the black SS consistently throughout the case?

2. dylman macrumors regular

dylman

3. davidsturner macrumors newbie

I work with DLC coating for a living and if it scratches it usually just turns the coating a light grey color.

4. lupend88 macrumors 6502

lupend88

How easy is it to scratch?

5. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

What happens is the Space Black owners will go home to cry themselves to sleep, then wake up to rant on MacRumors.

6. Tezcatlipoca macrumors regular

Tezcatlipoca

This video shows someone testing the DLC coating on another black watch:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02LAMOpEVq4

7. Blazinbell thread starter macrumors member

Wow that pretty impressive. So in the black SS the DLC is bonded at the molecular level. Not just a coating?

8. pmau macrumors 65816

Unless they have warm milk and cookies ...

----------

It may be, but please consider that this is not a hand made traditional watch body, but a mass-produced product. I would not expect wonders.

The SS black is there for margin and to make you feel like a special snowflake (in black).

9. pflau macrumors 6502

Does it mean we can forget about a black Milanese band?

10. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

It doesn't necessarily have to be DLC coated. Marc Newson did make a black Milanese loop so I'm not sure why Apple didn't do the same. If there isn't a wear issue, they might introduce a black Milanese loop and other more compatible bands for the Space Black down the line.

11. Julien macrumors G3

Julien

No, they just need to buy screen protectors, bumper cases and watch band covers before they put it on. :D

12. H3rman macrumors 6502