What's so great about the slide to activate camera rant?

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by ABC5S, Jun 17, 2016.

  1. ABC5S macrumors 68040

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    "Slide to launch camera" One still must click on the Home button, than slide to launch the camera as oppose to clicking on the Home button, and clicking on the Camera icon that I have now ?

    Samsungs S7 has it where you click on the Home button twice to activate the camera and not going into the Home screen, which is faster. In my opinion this new camera activation is not a step in the right direction. Am I missing something ?
     
  2. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #2
    Well maybe it's just me being clumsy but the way it was before, when I was on the lock screen I'd frequently try to bring up control center and end up bringing up the camera because there were two slide from the bottom gestures. The new model makes each compass direction do something different on the lock screen. Seems like an improvement - both logical and practical - to me. YMMV
     
  3. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    You don't have to click anything. On my 6s, I raise to wake and then slide over and boom, I'm at the camera. For non raise to wake devices, you'll have to wake the screen first and then swipe over. It's fast though, so the difference between double pressing on the Galaxy and the iPhone method is marginal...only really matters if you're trying to see who's faster and you have a stopwatch out...not a huge deal really.
     
  4. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #4
    Oh that too. Raise to wake works on my SE also. I guess older models do need to hit the home button first
     
  5. ABC5S thread starter macrumors 68040

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    But if I raise to wake, I'm still seeing the camera icon, and can just click on it or I can slide. Takes about the same time, and what's the point ? Oh well, its an Apple thing. But I can see why some would be OK with it.
     
  6. Creek0512 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #6
    My lock screen does not have a camera icon anywhere.
     
  7. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Raise to wake. Screen comes on. Slide over.

    It's not really that time consuming and the camera is ready right when you slide over. If there's something you're trying to get a picture of, you do it quickly without thinking. You don't sit there and say, "Hmm, should I raise to wake or press the home button?" etc, etc.
     
  8. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #8
    There's no camera icon on iOS 10. Have you tried it or is this a theoretical complaint?

    Edit: well the camera is featured on the standard "dots" control for clarity but it's not a tappable button
     
  9. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    It's at the very bottom center of the lock screen. There's 2 dots, one for the widget screen and another for the lock screen, and then there's a tiny camera icon on the right.
     
  10. Creek0512 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #10
    So there is, it is camouflaged pretty well with my wallpaper. Is that what the OP is trying to tap?

    Before you had to swipe from a small area in the bottom right corner and half the time triggered Control Center instead. Now you can swipe from anywhere on the lock screen to get to the camera. It's a lot faster because it requires significantly less precision from the user.
     
  11. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    I guess he was trying to tap the icon, but you don't have to, like you said. Just swipe from anywhere and you can get to the camera.
     
  12. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #13
    You always had to "click something" to wake the screen. What is the problem? What is the workflow you imagine something has been lost here?
     
  13. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #14
    you do, i'm just referring that general attitude where people are dismissing lock screen complaints by saying 'raise to wake!' (e.g. reviewing notifications then unlocking requires 2 home button clicks on a 6). However i realised batting's 'you' was to OP who has 6s in his signature, not a plural 'you'. please ignore me, sorry batting.
     
  14. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #15
    It's not against you personally but I find it bizarre that people are complaining about this. Nothing has been lost and something has been gained for users with 6s/6s+/SE. It doesn't seem to matter though because as soon as Apple change anything there's an "OMG ITS SO BAD!!!" response whether it makes sense or not

    iu.jpeg

    ^^^ The average macrumors forum commenter ;)
     
  15. spooky2k macrumors 6502a

    #16
    Nope. Don't need to touch the home button. Just raise your phone (take it out of your pocket) and slide right to left. Camera launched. No tiny area to aim for etc. Easy.
     
  16. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #17
    Only on 6s/6s+/SE but that's not really relevant because you always had to push the home (or power) button to wake your phone before activating the camera. Nothing lost in this new interaction.
     
  17. ABC5S thread starter macrumors 68040

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #18
    Sorry, meant Home Screen, not lock screen and it was a theoretical complaint as mentioned. Just thought it was not anything earth shattering different than what we all ready have.
     
  18. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #19
    So his feature is only on the 6s/s+ and not the 6/6+?
     
  19. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #20
    I also like the new feature due to a lot of times I'd try to bring up the camera and it would either not work by not totally registering my finger or it would try to bring up the control center. I feel like sometimes I'd have to try two or three times to activate the camera. Now it works every time.
     
  20. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #21
    Raise to unlock is 6s/6s+/SE only, yes. Everyone else views their lock screen by hitting home or power, same as always.
     
  21. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #22
    Bummer. Guess I'll have to wait for the 7/7s iPhone(s). Thanks for the response
     
  22. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #23
    It's still not fully clear if Raise to Wake is a 6s, 6s+ and SE only feature. M7 and M8 coprocessor are capable of handling it (M8 at least)

    I haven't seen any documentation stating M9 only (Apple's site just says "motion coprocessor") It's possible it may be only enabled on the newest phones in this build because those are the phones they used in the WWDC keynote on stage.

    We won't really know until after a few more beta builds and still not enabled elsewhere or if Apple confirms it somewhere.
     
  23. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #24
    That's true. It'd be more accurate to say right now it's only on those handsets
     
  24. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #25
    I would also assume that the 6/6+ could handle it. As you said, time will tell.
     

Share This Page