What's the blue dot?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Justin122, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. Justin122 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #1
    Instead of the 3G signal symbol, or the E symbol, I sometimes get this blue dot. What is it?

    [​IMG]

    Thanks,

    Justin :apple:
     
  2. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #2
    when your iPhone is out of a data network it shows that
     
  3. poolish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    south coast, uk
    #3
    GPRS. slower than Edge (E).
    try reading your manual, page 21?
     
  4. blancoBronco macrumors 6502a

    blancoBronco

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    South Tampa
    #4
    wrong. its still a data network, its the GPRS network which is slower than EDGE
     
  5. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    I used to get GPRS in the area I'm in now on my iPhone 3G. Now that I'm on the 3GS, I don't seem to get it anymore.. I doubt there's a difference in the radios?
     
  6. poolish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    south coast, uk
    #6
    no, when there is no data connection there wont be an icon at all.
     
  7. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #7
    I remember that blue dot. Took the 3GS on holiday and all I got was the blue dot. I was very disappointed :( Even then it was touch and go if I got data at all. O2 is crap. The UK is only small. You'd think they could cover it all. I was only in Devon.
     
  8. Justin122 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #8
    Does the 3GS have a stronger signal antenna?

    It could be that your network provider built a tower closer to your home.
     
  9. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Could be, but I get the same signal (crap, crap, crap) as before. There is not an AT&T tower in my town. It is a few miles away. I miss a lot of calls because of crappy signal.
     
  10. blancoBronco macrumors 6502a

    blancoBronco

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    South Tampa
    #10
    no, the antenna is the same. it is more likely that they built a tower closer to you. or maybe their current towers were just made stronger.
     
  11. the-sandman macrumors regular

    the-sandman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    #11
    Living down here i can tell you that i spend more time looking at 'No Service' and 'Searching…' than anything else, and god forbid you get any 3G data anywhere populated! :rolleyes:
     
  12. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #12
    I was in a caravan in Bovey Tracy and "No Service" was very common so I feel your pain. Last year in the same place I was getting great speeds on 3G with my Nokia N95 tethered to my laptop. That was on Orange though.
     
  13. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    GPRS. No data means nothing shows up.:D
     
  14. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #14
    Ah, GPRS... It makes EDGE feel like broadband!
     
  15. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #15
    Oh baby GPRS. Nothing like that sweet, sweet unlimited teat.
     
  16. the-sandman macrumors regular

    the-sandman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    #16
    It seems Orange and T-Mobile have better coverage over south Devon, with O2 just about beating Vodaphone, which is just dire! At least i get 5 bars of EDGE on Orange at my house as opposed to 1 bar to no service of GPRS on O2 :(
     

Share This Page