What's Your PC?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by pimentoLoaf, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. pimentoLoaf macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #1
    You know, the BSOD device that plays games and has to have its registry cleaned periodically. (And looks really rad because of the glowing tubes of coolant to keep the overclocked CPU from melting down to China.)
     
  2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #2
    I've never heard of a PC like this. My PC has only BSOD'd on me once or twice, when the PSU went. And I've never tweaked the registry. But since you asked...

    It's a black and silver case, with a fanless GPU, PSU, and a single CPU fan. It has a tri-core 2.6ghz CPU, and runs my coding software quite well, along with my games, with nary a peep.

    My laptop is a nice 2.3ghz i5, with a brone metal exterior, backlit keyboard, 6630m graphics card (again for the programming I do, but gaming on it is fantastic as well). I can pull off about 5 hours of battery life, and I have the option to swap the DVD burner for a Blu-ray drive. It's a 14" screen, and I paid $939 for it, including the two-year, next day on-site warranty.

    Since you asked :)
     
  3. pimentoLoaf, Aug 6, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2011

    pimentoLoaf thread starter macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #3
    The reason I asked is that I finally upgraded to a decent tool to play upcoming really neat stuff like Bioshock Infinite.

    My old Vista Ultimate HP never BSOD'd ever. Win7 on a different Tosh has crashed numerous times.
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    My Aluminum MacBook Bootcamped with win7 Ultimate x64 lol :p

    We also have a P4 dell from 6 or 7 years ago. It sucks.
     
  5. Vudoo macrumors 6502a

    Vudoo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Metroplex
    #5
    My Dell that I bought several years ago running XP which does my video streaming now. It never BSOD on me. :D
     
  6. boss.king macrumors 68040

    boss.king

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #6
    You could have built a pretty decent desktop for that money. I'm looking at building one as my next computer as I barely use the portability of a laptop.

    Currently though, I have an HP laptop with an i5, 4GB ram, 2 GB dedicated gpu. Not great but it runs most of what I throw at it.
     
  7. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #7
    I built a

    i5-750 (not overclocked - stock is already super fast)
    4GB RAM
    GTX 260
    Windows 7

    No BSODs or problems with it, actually.


    Dell 8400? Hah. I still have mine.
    It's a good machine. I'm actually using it right now.
     
  8. sysiphus macrumors 6502a

    sysiphus

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #8
    Thinkpad T520:
    • i5 2410M
    • 6GB DDR3
    • 320GB WD Scorpio Black
    • 15" 1920x1080 matte 95% gamut display

    All for just over 1k USD. Could have gotten an i7 quad, but couldn't justify the heat/power/cost. Lovely screen, unbeatable keyboard, ExpressCard, TrackPoint, swappable drive bay, and OEM provided hardware documentation for replacing any component down to the frame.

    Used to have a Macbook Pro (rev. 1, 2.16GHz CD/X1600) but I gave up on Apple after I found out that EFI issues stopped CATIA from passing the antitheft tests needed for install (in Boot Camp partition). Furthermore, it was no fun seeing the thermal issues on mine, then the nonsensical removal of the Expresscard slot in later versions. If I'd specc'ed my Thinkpad to top-level MBP parts, I wouldn't have saved loads of money, but it was nice to be able to get a top-quality 15" workstation with a matte high-res display for not much more than the cost of an entry-level Mac.
     
  9. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #9
    Nah, we had an inspiron 8500, but the DC input had a bad connection, so we couldn't get it to charge or power on at all. The one that works (barely) is a 4700 desktop.
     
  10. Vudoo macrumors 6502a

    Vudoo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Metroplex
    #10
    Mine is a Dell 8400 and the thing won't die. The only thing I've done to the machine is replaced the hard drives with faster and larger ones, add more RAM and a better video card and all of this was years ago. The thing is on 24-7 and there are zero issues with it.
     
  11. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #11
    My PC does none of those things. Are you sure that's a PC you're describing ?

    Anyway, just to humor you, here's my PC :

    Code:
    # cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep "^model name" | uniq
    model name	: AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 450 Processor
    # cat /proc/meminfo | grep MemTotal
    MemTotal:       16436652 kB
    # lspci | egrep "VGA|Audio|Ethernet"
    00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc 760G [Radeon 3000]
    01:05.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RS780 Azalia controller
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications AR8131 Gigabit Ethernet (rev c0)
    03:02.0 Ethernet controller: D-Link System Inc DGE-530T Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev 11) (rev 11)
    # uname -s -r -v
    Linux 2.6.39-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Jun 6 22:37:55 CEST 2011
    
     
  12. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
  13. TheSuperSteve macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #13
    Mine is an HP p6710f. Amd Athlon II x4, 4 gigs of ram, 1TB hard drive. It blue screens everytime i go into sleep mode or when i use certain apps. Bought it 3 months ago or so and i'm thinking of replacing it with a Mac Mini soon-ish.

    I'll take the hardrive out and turn it into an external hdd for the mini.
     
  14. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #14
    Code:
    jon@one-that-serves:~$ sudo cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep "^model name" | uniq
    model name	: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.60GHz
    jon@one-that-serves:~$ sudo cat /proc/meminfo | grep MemTotal
    MemTotal:         378436 kB
    jon@one-that-serves:~$ sudo lspci | egrep "VGA|Audio|Ethernet"
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 12)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV6 [Vanta/Vanta LT] (rev 15)
    02:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller (rev 03)
    jon@one-that-serves:~$ sudo uname -s -r -v
    Linux 2.6.35-22-generic-pae #33-Ubuntu SMP Sun Sep 19 22:14:14 UTC 2010
    
    I have a broken Alienware 3Ghz I need to fix sometime. Needs a $65 motherboard replacement. Just need the time and disposable funds (which are all going to insurance deductible these next two months).
     
  15. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #15
    My homebuilt PC running Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    • Intel i7 920 processor
    • Nvidia GTX 295 GPU
    • 12GB DDR3
    • Samsung 128GB SSD
    • 1.5TB Data HD

    I also have a Buffalo TeraStation NAS with 8GB (well less with Raid 5) worth of storage for backups and media storage. Nice part is that it has built in DLNA as well as time capsule functionality.

    Machine is about 2 years old but has no issues playing anything with all settings on high. For all the complaints I see here about PCs I really have had no issues with mine.
     
  16. gramirez2012 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    #16
    The only PC I have left is a Compaq Evo D51S small form factor PC. It's a Pentium 4 I think. It's running Ubuntu, primarily functioning as an AppleTalk server, but it also interfaces with my wx station and uploads its data to the internet.
     
  17. JetBlack7 macrumors 68020

    JetBlack7

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    Portugal
    #17
    Custom pc made from scratch:

    .Intel Core i7 950 @ 3.06 Ghz
    .6GB DDR3 1600 Mhz (Triple Channel)
    .Asus Rampage III Gene
    .XFX ATI Radeon HD 5870 2GB DDR5
    .Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bits
    .Thermaltake Elements S
    .Thermaltake CPU Cooler "Frío"
     
  18. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #18
    It's a 27" iMac with bootcamp. Does the job really well.
     
  19. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #19
    The only time I saw a BSOD was when trying to run windows inside parallels. :rolleyes:

    My work computer, wife's dell and my Core i7 that I built are very stable and fast. Windows 7 for me has been excellent and stable
     
  20. Melrose Suspended

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #20
    Top of the line MacBook Pro 17". And not the base model either. :cool:
     
  21. juanm macrumors 65816

    juanm

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Fury 161
    #21
    I got a Lenovo S20 workstation with W7 strictly for 3D use (3ds Max, mostly). I've upgraded it:

    Xeon X5550 -> Xeon W3580
    Nvidia Quadro FX 4800 -> NVidia Geforce GTX570
    12GB of RAM.

    It will soon get upgraded to an SSD system drive and 24GB of RAM, and later down the road, when their 2nd hand price goes down, to a 6-core processor.

    Also, not really an upgrade, but I got an ACD 30".

    For its intended use, it works fine. For everything else, I use a 2006 iMac and a 2011 MacBook Air 11". :D
     
  22. chuntian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
  23. Mr. McMac Suspended

    Mr. McMac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    Far away from liberals
    #23
    I have 2 Dells, an XPS 730 and an Inspiron 531, and one home built. Blue screened once when the 531 had Vista on it. Now it's got XP pro on it and is being used as a DVR for my home security system. Runs 24/7 with no problems
     
  24. MaxMike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #24
    Once my Dell Latitude D620 went (power port for the fan went, leading to almost instant overheating) I decided enough with PCs and went onto my now fully Mac life :apple:. But occasionally if I'm in a pinch my household contains an eMachines desktop. it's cheap, but at least it's got 2.7GHz Pentium DC, and 4GB RAM for Win7.
     
  25. ProwlingTiger macrumors 65816

    ProwlingTiger

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #25
    Made a new Sandy Bridge build earlier this year. I needed something beastly for photo and video editing, this fit the bill. Soon, I hope to have OS X Lion running on it, but I've had a bit of trouble so far, so I've kinda put that off for a while. I still have my Macbook, iPad, and iPhone, so I'm by no means losing my way :D

    CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: Asus CuCore Series Radeon HD 5770 1GB PCI Express 2.1
    RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1333
    Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion
     

Share This Page