iPad WhatsPad - run WhatsApp on iPad/iPad 2

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Lee82UK, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. Lee82UK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #1
    Thought a few of you may be interested in this, I've just submitted my tweak 'WhatsPad' to a cydia repo so it should be available soon (it is free of course).

     
  2. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Audio explaining what you are doing would help.
     
  3. ExcelsiorNY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for creating this! I'm looking forward to using. But can't find it.

    What repo was that?
     
  4. reyno28 macrumors member

    reyno28

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    #4
    I am very interested in trying this. Please update with more info!!
     
  5. henchman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #5
    Tried it.
    Doesnt want to install.
    The whatsup app says " wrong ipa"
     
  6. mrlowkey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    singapore
    #6
    Works really well..you need the latest version of whatsapp..tks to the developer who tweeted that it is available at Big Boss repo foc..
     
  7. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    The instructions suck!!! A video of him quickly flipping around on the iPad with no audio not explaining what he's doing.
     
  8. Lee82UK thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #8
    Thats because you don't need to do anything. Install WhatsApp, install WhatsPad from Cydia. The video is a demo, showing how it will work fullscreen with FullForce etc.
     
  9. vega07 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #9
    LOL. I understood his/her video without audio perfectly.
     
  10. ro-76 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #10
    I can't install whatsapp. It says incompatible with my iPad
     
  11. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    That's my point. You can't get it from the app store. iTunes will not allow you to install it. You have to get it from an application I cannot name here and install the cracked version to even get it on the iPad. The video doesn't show that.
     
  12. jeromenism macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #12
    People like you are extremely ungrateful. Lee82UK has kindly posted this tweak which works perfectly for anyone with decent amount of IQ. Just FYI, you're able to install whatsapp through the use of iTunes and not just from the application which we can't name. Stop putting the blame on the developer and on yourself instead for your lack of knowledge.
     
  13. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    I downloaded whatsapp through iTunes. I tried to add it and iTunes says it will not run on this device. That isn't lack of knowledge. That's what iTunes says.

    Before you started mouthing off I have posted tutorials here with step by step instructions and screen captures on how to do other hacks. If people had questions, I answered them. His instructions suck and so does your attitude. You say you got it to work yet offer no assistance besides "I got it to work so it should work for you." Something I would never say when people ask for help with my instructions.
     
  14. henchman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #14
    Still wont istall.
     
  15. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    According to jeromenism your IQ is too low. He got it to work. It should work for you to.
     
  16. ro-76 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #16
    if you do install it on an iPad and use your iPhone number to activate it, will the messages appear on both devices simultaneously?
     
  17. jeromenism macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #17
    Nope, only on one device.
     
  18. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #18
    I tried that. It disabled whatsapp on my iPhone and the messages did not appear on my iPad. I have a 3G iPad so there is a number to register it with. But the iPad can't receive an SMS or place a call to register with whatsapp. I emailed thier support asking how go register.

    Like I said. I'm not the only one who could not follow the video and I don't see anyone offering suggestions besides "it worked for me so you're stupid."
     
  19. ro-76 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #19
    I don't see the advantage for anyone who has both devices.
     
  20. jeromenism macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #20
    All you need to do is install whatsapp on your iPad and whatspad via cydia. The sequence doesn't even matter. If you already have whatsapp installed on your iPad, all you need to do is install whatspad like the developer had mentioned earlier. What is your issue you are having then?
     
  21. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    I'm stuck at registering the device with whatsapp. I have an iPhone with whatsapp and the iPad as well. I'd like to be able to use both devices. The options for registering is SMS or placing a phone call. 2 things you cannot do from an iPad.

    I tried registering the iPad with my iPhone phone number and it disabled whatsapp on my iPhone. Is it not possible to use both devices?
     
  22. jeromenism macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #22
    No, it's nit possible to have it running in both devices. Only either one.
     
  23. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #23
    Thank you. I emailed whatsapp support to see if I can register the phone number from the SIM card on my 3G iPad. I'll post what they say when I get a response.
     
  24. Lee82UK thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #24
    That isn't true, I'm very much against piracy and would certainly never make a tweak that required any form of cracked apps.
    I've written some quick instructions on one of the alternative ways to installing other than through iTunes, using the iPhone Configuration Utility from Apple. Hopefully they will help you and others out:
    http://pastie.org/2281838
     
  25. Coleman2010 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #25
    THANK YOU!!! For some your video was easy to follow. For the rest of us... Not so much. Appreciate the written instructions.
     

Share This Page