When do you use your 9600GT in OsX ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lapino, Mar 10, 2009.

1. lapino macrumors regular

I'm just wondering. I normally used the 9400M but decided to check if there was any difference today using the 9600GT. I surfed, mailed and did some Aperture/Photoshop work but really didn't notice any difference. What applications exactly would make me see the difference (except from games in bootcamp...)

2. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

kastenbrust

3. jagr200 macrumors member

How do you switch between the two? Ya Im a newb lol. I got the MBP because I know its gonna be enough computer for me for the next 3 or so years. I also do alot of video and picture stuff along with gaming so I need it. But how do you switch from one to the other?

4. lapino thread starter macrumors regular

Because I could? No just kidding. Bought a Macbook first but switched to a Macbook pro because I found the 1280x800 resolution kinda limiting, although I kinda think the MBP is just a tad too big for my use. Can't have both I guess (a MB with 1440x900 res would be perfect for me)

You switch by clicking the battery icon on top, and then choose the higher performance instead of longer battery life.

5. jagr200 macrumors member

Oh so it doesnt really matter a whole lot about battery life if you are using it plugged in which is when I am gaming and stuff. Cool thanks.

6. MarkSTi04 macrumors regular

Ive been running the 9600GT for, umm, a few weeks now. I run Aperture 2 and I think it helps with the Photo editing. Other than that, I'm running it just because I can.