Where do I find Mac CPU???

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by zl13, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. zl13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #1
    I want to do some upgrades to my macbook pro (i.e. RAM, HDD, and CPU)
    I can't find cpu though, I saw an intel i7 on newegg that was mobile, but I don't know if that will fit my mac. I have a 13" MacBook Pro mid 2010, and would like to upgrade to the i series processers by intel, thanks!!!
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Unfortunately, the CPU cannot be upgraded, for a variety of reasons. The HDD and RAM can though
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    You can't upgrade the CPU. It is soldered on.
     
  4. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #4
    To upgrade the processor on a MacBook Pro:

    1. Go to www.apple.com/store and pick a MacBook Pro with the processor that you want.

    2. Backup the complete contents of your hard drive using Time Machine.

    3. Sell your MacBook Pro on eBay.

    4. Order the MacBook Pro with the processor that you want.

    5. Restore the complete contents of your Macintosh from the Time Machine backup.
     
  5. zl13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #5
    That stinks!!!! Thanks anyways, I got a kick out of gnasher's post.
    Can I get a link to some hdd's?

    Can't I just desolder it?
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    No, you can't.
     
  7. zl13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #7
    DARN!!!!! Well I will upgrade to 8gb of RAM at least and probably a 500gb HDD, I don't absolutely need an i7 anyways its not like I do anything insanely intensive
     
  8. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #8
    Even if you could unsolder it, the i3's probably don't even use the same socket or firmware or lots of other things.
     
  9. mr0c macrumors regular

    mr0c

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia, US
    #9
    here's a great site for comparing specs and prices (I've chosen the WD Scorpio Blue 500GB):
    http://diskcompare.com/disk/566/

    There's good info on replacing on the ifixit and macsales sites.
     
  10. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #10
    It's a laptop. CPUs in most laptops are not upgradable. It's one of the compromises you make when buying one.
     
  11. steviem macrumors 68020

    steviem

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    New York, Baby!
    #11
    The best thing would be to tear the optical drive out, put an SSD in there for the OS, stick in 8GB RAM and a big 2.5" HDD to replace the standard one.:D
     
  12. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    Wait… you can desolder the CPU, but you have to use a reflow soldering station.

    So yes it's possible and no you don't want to spend the money on that. ;)

    Plus you will most likely fail the first 100 times until you get the hang of it. You would also need to be able to solder the BGA on the CPU and there are about 1288 balls. The fact you're asking about this means you won't be to do it. Sorry ;)

    And finally the sockets on the Core 2 and the Core iX are different.
     

Share This Page