Which brand of RAM should I buy?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by seasurfer, May 27, 2011.

  1. seasurfer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #1
    I want to upgrade my 27 imac 3.4 to 16GB, which brand of RAM should I buy? Does brand really matter?
     
  2. coolspot18 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Any mainstream brand should be fine - as long as it meets the specs. Crucial/Micron should work for sure, Mushkin, etc.
     
  3. Jolly Giant macrumors 6502a

    Jolly Giant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
  4. adamj575 macrumors 6502

    adamj575

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #4
    ive always gone with crucial for aftermarket ram...affordable and good...
     
  5. SDRacerR1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #5
    Look at this thread...by two of these while they are still on sale. Prob your cheapest option, and good ram too

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1158167
     
  6. Bat6111 macrumors member

    Bat6111

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    for me, I just stick with Samsung Factory Original. I never had any kernel panics from them all 3 machines, I maxed them out 16gb. I purchased them from OWC.

    PS. I did try OWC brand and had a kernel panics, then switched them to Samsung and had no problem since then !
     
  7. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #7
    Why?

    And FWIW, adding 8 gigs for a total of 12 is a far, far better cost vs total ram.
     
  8. stir fry a lot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #8
    I upgraded mine to 12gb using Crucial RAM from Newegg.com with no problems. I do a little 3d compositing and lots of video editing and have found 12gb to be sufficient so far. Its not worth another $100 just for four extra gigs imo. I would go with 12 for now and when prices drop in a year or two keep the 8gb of Crucial, ditch the OE 4gb and add another 2 x 8gb sticks to boost it to 24gb of ram.
     
  9. archer75 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    Brand doesn't matter. Buy it, plug it in, done.
     
  10. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #10
    Not quite, you want a reputable brand.

    On a then relatively new system, Apple once updated firmware which tightened the specs needed for memory, one of the brands replaced all of their memory that failed with the new firmware under warranty. Not all brands will do this. So to repeat, buy a known reputable brand for memory.
     
  11. seasurfer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #11
    Transcend vs. Crucial, which one is better?
     
  12. archer75 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    Most brands don't make their own memory. They have other companies do it for them. Several "brands" are all made within the same fabs. So in the regard brand is irrelevant.

    Warranty coverage is up to the actual company selling it so sure, there could be some difference there. Most offer 5 year to lifetime warranties.

    The ram in my imac is made in a fab that also makes ram for OCZ, Kingston and others.
     
  13. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #13
    Look up issues people had with the memory, especially any issues with warranty service. For all you know the ram from both brands is made by the same manufacturer. That is why I used the term "brand" in my previous post as you don't go to the manufacturer of the memory for warranty claims (unless that happens to also be the brand of memory you bought).
     
  14. ZeD X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #14
    Crucial is one of the best Ram brand available. Pick it up now.


    Why did you question every upgrade people want to do?

    We all want to spend money on upgrade, so we do. That's it.

    As there's no 3gb of ram memory available, so, to get 12gb you will need to broke the dual channel (if it is dual), or slow down the system if it is triple and you are using 2x4gb + 2x2gb. If the system is dual channel and you are going to use 2x4gb + 2x2gb, then the slow down will be imperceptible, but it will slow down.
     
  15. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #15
    ford vs chevy, which one?
     
  16. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #16
    These days neither.

    However, Transcend vs. Crucial is a good question.
     
  17. likegadgets macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    US
  18. xMClass macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    California
  19. penduboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    #20
  20. onthecouchagain macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #21
    Sorry in advance for the newbie question: How do you tell which RAM is correct for the imac? Is any laptop RAM usable?
     
  21. coolspot18 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    iMacs use SODIMMs, laptop memory.

    Specifications for memory can be found here: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3011
     
  22. Mr. McMac Suspended

    Mr. McMac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    Far away from liberals
    #23
    Crucial all the way. Their customer service is excellent.
     
  23. onthecouchagain macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #24
  24. yakkowarner epi macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #25
    Guess I'll get the crucial 4 gb x 2 listed above from newegg.

    But I was curious to see if there was any 8gb x 2 available for the new imac yet. I couldn't find any on the crucial website.
     

Share This Page