Which iPad To Get? New User Here

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Jabar18, Jul 7, 2015.

1. Jabar18 macrumors member

Hi folks, I'm new to the iPad realm but am excited to be making my first iPad purchase soon! Here's the deal:

I'm using a 2007 15' MBP as my main computer. It's heavier than rocks, the machine itself/display is almost dead, and I'm probably going to shell out for another 15' MBP soon. (I just can't go any smaller than 15 inches for a laptop screen, 13 is too small for me.) I need a 15' MBP for the 1TB disc option (I don't want my media/files, etc spread out across multiple external hard drives.) As an aside, I also have an iPhone 6 and use that for web surfing most of the time because I can't be bothered to get my old computer up and running.

I'm a PhD college student and my plan was to obtain an iPad to use as a bridge between home and campus so I don't have to lug a 15' MBP around all the time. I've visited an Apple store and decided that the iPad Mini is just too small. So then it leaves the Air or the Air 2.

I've already decided to buy refurbished. I don't have a lot of cash to buy new and waiting until October when the school year is already in swing for the Air 3? doesn't appeal to me. So my basic questions are:

Given my situation, is an iPad necessary? I'd be using it mainly for apps, email, basic web surfing, note taking, etc.

Is the original Air going to hold "value", not cash value but user value (speed, power, etc) for 3-4 years? Am I better off going for the Air 2 if I'm looking for a tablet to use for the next 3-4 years? I'm really excited that many people use their same iPad for 3-4 years. I'm not the type of user that is looking to renew/refresh every year and want a tablet I buy NOW to last me 3-4 years. Thus, given that, is the Air 2 worth the extra $100 difference in price over at the Apple store refurbished stock?

What are some people's thoughts?

2. hovscorpion12 macrumors 65816

hovscorpion12