Which UPS for 2009 Mac Pro Octo

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Flash SWT, Apr 25, 2009.

  1. Flash SWT macrumors 6502

    Flash SWT

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    Hey gang, I know this has been discussed before, please indulge me. I'm ready to pull the trigger on a 2.26 8 core with 4870, 12 GB of RAM and 4 hard drives (both aftermarket). I'm also probably going with the HP LP2475w that will also be on the UPS. I've got it narrowed down to these choices:

    APC Smart-UPS 1000VA (670 Watts) $459
    http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=SUA1000
    or
    APC BACK-UPS RS 1500VA LCD (865 Watts) $250
    http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=BR1500LCD

    My original Mac Pro at work is on a 750 and the load indicators never go over 2 of 5 although it has stock video card and only 1 HD. I'm thinking I want a little more capacity than this though.
    APC Smart-UPS 750VA USB (500 Watts) $320
    http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=SUA750

    If money were no object:
    APC Smart-UPS 1500VA USB (980 Watts) $559
    http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=SUA1500

    The Smart-UPS model provides a true sinewave but has less capacity. The RS model has more capacity but a stepped sinewave. What do y'all think?
     
  2. Boneoh macrumors 6502

    Boneoh

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    #2
    Funny, I went to the genius bar at the local Apple store on Thursday to ask this. The guy said with the octo with a 4870 card runs about 850 watts. He recommended to get at least 1200VA, but was not specific to any brand, model, etc.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. kirreip macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #3
    I have the APC RS 1500 VA (without the LCD). It works great and fits perfectly the new Nehalem MacPro's. I got a good deal in my country for this model, that's why I opted for the one without the LCD. Leopard fully integrates it and you can allways see how much battery there is left (in minutes or percent). Just like a MacBook (Pro).
     
  4. Flash SWT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Flash SWT

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #4
    That can't be right. According to Apple the stock 8-core 2.26 idles at 146 W and maxes at 309 W.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2836

    According to Diglloyd, "the MP09 maxes out at about 350 watts under the most severe load." He says the 4870 adds 60 watts so we're looking at around 410 watts when maxed out with drives and RAM under full load.
    http://macperformanceguide.com/Reviews-MacProNehalem.html#PowerConsumption
     
  5. macman21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #5
    That seems way off. I have a 2.26 octo with the 4870. I've had it plugged in to my kill-a-watt since I got it. It is around 260 watts at idle. The max I've seen is around 350 watts.
     
  6. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6
    When you turn computers on, or wake them from sleep they require a surge.
     
  7. Flash SWT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Flash SWT

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    trainguy77, I remember reading that about the 2008 models over the past year (I've been planning this purchase for a while). However my Mac Pro at work on the 750 VA UPS doesn't have any problems at startup so it makes me wonder. Maybe the 2009 (or older) models don't have that "issue?"

    macman21, can the kill-a-watt measure if there is a large spike on startup or when waking from sleep?
     
  8. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #8
    Doesn't matter, the power supply for the Mac Pro late 2008 version is 1kw (1000 watts). If you push everything to the max on these machines, you're going to hit the max.
     
  9. wetrix macrumors 6502

    wetrix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #9
    Keep in mind that you want the UPS to stay going for a few minutes with the power out. My 2008 Pro runs for 22 minutes with 8 dev/nulls going (max CPU) on an APC smart UPS 750VA.
     
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    Quite true. :)

    It can be mitigated to some extent by implementing a delayed startup (firmware) for devices such as drives, but can't be eliminated completely.
     
  11. yomibro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #11
    Using a CyberPower CP1350AVRLCD with the MacPro and a Gateway FHD2400 connected to it, I am able to get around 13 minutes of standby time at 50% load. Had a CP1285AVRLCD purchased from Staples the week before but decided to return it since Newegg was offering a discount and free shipping on this slightly more robust model so it ended up being $35 cheaper (more power, less money :D).
     
  12. Flash SWT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Flash SWT

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #12
    I was in the office today and decided to do some experiments. My work 2006 Mac Pro on a APC Smart-UPS 750VA. At startup the load indicators never go above 2/5 however waking from sleep caused the Overload light to come on and the Mac Pro lost power every time.

    Same model Mac Pro on a APC Smart-UPS 1500VA, startup never pushed it above 2/5 load. Wake from sleep one time pushed the load to 5/5 but the computer stayed on. Nine other times on wake from sleep the load indicator stayed at 1/5. I'm not sure why it spiked once but not the nine other times I tried it.

    While this is interesting it obviously isn't a test using a 2009 model. The one obvious point though is that the 750VA (500 Watt) model is definately underpowered for the Mac Pro unless you never let it sleep.
     
  13. MacCurry macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #13
    If you plan on running dual monitors, and other external devices, from an economics point of view this question doesn't make much sense. The price difference is $50-75, and if you've spent so much money on a MacPro, you might as well get a higher rated UPS with the larger battery.
     
  14. Flash SWT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Flash SWT

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #14
    The original question was: Go for the higher quality true sine-wave UPS with a lower capacity or go with a lower quality stepped sine-wave UPS with a higher capacity.

    In other words, is the true sine-wave model worth the trade-off in lower capacity at almost double the price?
     
  15. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #15
    Take a look at used UPSs on ebay. You can get Smart-UPS with new batteries for shockingly cheap prices.

    I have several Smart-UPS SUA1500s. One was new, a couple were used on CL and the like, and I recently got some more from ebay for less than $200ea shipped. As of now I cannot tell the difference. ;)
     
  16. macman21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #16
    Unfortunately, no. I haven't seen it go above 300 when waking. So either there isn't much of a spike, or the kill-a-watt doesn't sample often enough. My guess is the later. :)
     
  17. Flash SWT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Flash SWT

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #17
    OK, thanks for checking and letting us know.
     
  18. wfmcvideo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Location:
    WA state
    #18
    Mac Pro 2008 with new UPS

    I have been reading this thread (along with a couple on other sites). I've been shopping for a new UPS and have results to add to the mix. I am running:
    • Mac Pro '07
    • Quad 2.66 GHz Intel Xeon processors
    • ATI Radeon X1900 graphics card
    • 4 internal WD 7200 rpm 500GB drives
    • 2 optical drives
    • 2 Samsung 21' monitors
    • LaCie 2TB Raid external HD
    • Airport Extreme

    I first tried a 300 watt UPS before I read the threads, and that failed. Then I researched and found I may be pulling up to 550 watts, but wanting to save $$ I traded up to an APC 750VA 450 watt model, and everything is working fine. This is only Day 1, but I'm running everything at full capacity. FYI - APC's PowerChute software is 3 years old and not certified for OS 10.5 but the OS 10.5.7 System Preferences Energy Saver panel covers the same settings plus more.
     
  19. ScottishCaptain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #19
    Smart-UPS is the way to go.

    These units are supported by OS X with no additional software. Just plug in the USB cable, and you'll get a UPS option in the Energy Saver prefpane that will let you configure shutdown parameters, without any additional bloatware from APC.

    IMHO, the Back-UPS units are designed for "little Windows PC's". The sort of Dell or HP you'd buy from Futureshop with a weeny 350W PSU in the back. Most of the time they also come with weird non-standard cables (like an RJ45 -> USB, and I'm not kidding!), weird software, and are hardly worth the trouble. They're also not really quality units- not like the Smart-UPS's, which are built like tanks.

    I personally run a Smart-UPS 1500VA. Wonderful unit. Gives me around ~15-20M of runtime, with a 06 Mac Pro (4x2.66, 5GB, 4x500GB, X1900), 23" Cinema, Logitech Z5500's, and some network gear (Airport Extreme, cable modem, and 2x Gigabit switches).

    > When you turn computers on, or wake them from sleep they require a surge.

    I don't know about a surge, but my '06 MP does draw quite a bit more power then "normal use" when it's booting or waking. Usually the APC LED meter on the UPS (however accurate that thing is) goes up a few points while the Mac Pro fans are on full blast, until the machine settles down to it's normal, quiet state.

    I'm assuming if you got a UPS that "just barely" covers the Mac Pro, then that rise in power usage might cause the UPS to freak out and overload alert. But I'm guessing this shouldn't be a problem if you get something with more capacity then you need.

    -SC
     
  20. wfmcvideo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Location:
    WA state
    #20
    Smart UPS = Smart Idea

    Thanks for the recommendation on the Smart UPS. No doubt it is a much better solution. However, the APC Smart 500watt unit costs 3x as much as the one I'm now testing, and from what I see the model you have costs $6-700 which is far beyond my price range. For that much $$ it had better be built like a very reliable tank! For now, I think I'll cautiously wait and watch for the next 14 days of my exchange policy.
     
  21. noushy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    #21
    Using APC SU1500

    I am running my Mac Pro 2009 (2.93 octo), 8 drive sata array (external), and some misc. hardware and networking gear, and the APC shows less than 900 Watts being using. This includes an Apple ACD30, Altec Lansing speaker system, cable modem, router, gigabit switch, and photo printer. Internally I have a boot drive, and two 1tb drives for time machine. I have to say, the new Mac Pro uses much less electricity than the 2008. Hope this helps.

    Noushy

    BTW: Tiger Direct sells them for $299, which is a bargain, I paid almost $550 for my first one (own three of them and two rack mount units).
     
  22. wfj5444 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #22
    I have a Tripp Lite G1000U which works 100% unless I connect it to USB.

    I have no problems with sleep or start up or any of the like, but after I connect it to my Mac Pro via USB, within 24 hours both it and the Mac Pro will be off.

    This doesn't make me feel good but at least I have SOME protection.

    I have called Tripp Lite and posted on this forum and no one has had this problem or can help me fix it :p
     
  23. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #23
    Sweet. :D Thanks for that. :)
     
  24. wfmcvideo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Location:
    WA state
    #24
    RE: Using APC SU1500

    Now you're making me nervous... :confused: If your Mac Pro is using less than 900 W with a fairly similar configuration to mine, and you're saying my 2007 model uses MORE power, I'm wondering WHY I am able to get by with the 500 W APC model I'm now running............. I'll see if I can find equipment to give me a reading of my power output!
     
  25. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #25
    P3 Kill A Watt Electricity Load Meter would help. ;) Not too expensive either. :)
     

Share This Page