Which would be the best Mac Pro for me?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DaveP, Nov 12, 2010.

1. DaveP macrumors 6502

DaveP

Hey everybody,
    I'm trying to decide on my next computer purchase. I currently have a 2.4 GHz Core2 Duo iMac that is acceptable. However, I don't plan on holding onto it for too long as its 3 year AppleCare is done in June and I find it easier to sell if it is still under warranty. I know for sure that I do not want another iMac. The limited upgradability and especially the external hard drives irritate me to no end.

As far as computer usage, I'm a part time iPhone developer who also uses my computer for Photoshop, digital RAW photo manipulation, and Windows virtualization round out my more intensive type of tasks. Depending on the model I get, I'd like to computer to last 3-5 years, which considering I could get away with my current iMac for another year if I wanted to, seems very doable.

I was thinking of going used as I don't need the computing horsepower of the newest models. However, if it would last me longer such that it would be a better value I would certainly consider it. Though the current base model seems a particularly poor deal. I was considering a 3,1 2.8 octo as it seemed to be a reasonable blend of power vs cost, though I have hardly any hands on experience with Mac Pro's to really know. One thing I am not very familiar with is the different processor families and I know certain models allow better options for CPU upgrades in the future. And I'm hesitant to play the waiting game for new models as it will likely be a while and who knows what will or won't make it in (lightpeak?). But again I could be persuaded if there is a compelling reason.

So, tell me what computer I should get ... and why:)

Thanks.

2. mdgm macrumors 6502a

Get a refurb from the Apple Online Store if you're going to go used. Getting one of the Mid-2010 Mac Pros as a refurb would be best.

3. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member