White Macbook or the new Macbook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nggera, Nov 22, 2008.

1. nggera macrumors newbie

Hi everone. So I am new to Mac. I am just a typical college student, not an artist or obssessed with graphics. I finally decide to buy a Mac. While considering, I am thinking should I buy the white macbook (which i am obssessed with the shape/color/look) or should I buy the new macbook. Can anyone tell me more about the differences and advices? Thanks!

2. svndmvn Guest

what the older one has over the new Aluminum one: Firewire, which I doubt you'll use, it is not absolutely a bad machine,especially given the price difference, it is awesome for someone new to Macs.
    What the new one has over the old one(that is actually new): LED display that makes it instantly bright and brighter, longer lasting etc, 1066MHz vs 800MHz, DDR3 1066 vs DDR2 800, if i'm not mistaking, a bit thinner, cooler as in lower temperatures, better graphics, bigger "multi-touch" trackpad
    this is pretty much it, I believe

3. JG271 macrumors 6502a

JG271

If you have enough money, go for the new one i guess. Although the white macbook is still very good, the new ones just seem so well built.

Up to you really, I guess you could buy a white macbook and spend the rest of the money on accessories if thats what you like to do.

Btw there is an education discount for students too :)

4. Catch Them macrumors regular

the old ones are good if theyre not going to be used for much of anything short of using the net or documents in office and stuff like that.

but if you plan to stress it a bit with photoshop, a game or two, or any sort of intensive work; id opt for the new alu-MacBook.

they offer better graphics performance which helps in overall system performance (as it isnt eating up your Memory like the previous built in onboard gpu); faster memory and FSB of course.