White screen after installing new HD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by guyducati, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. guyducati macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL currently, Tuscon AZ soon...
    #1
    I just installed a new 750GB HDD into my Late 2008 Macbook Pro. I turned it on, and now theres just a white screen with a cursor that I can move around. I tried putting the OSX install disc in and holding down option, and that did squat...What do I do??!?!?

    Thanks for any help!!!
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    You have to restart and hold down Option (or the "C" key) with the disc in to get it to boot from the disc.
     
  3. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    Where is this white screen? Right after bootup or what?
     
  4. guyducati thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL currently, Tuscon AZ soon...
    #4
    Ok..I got the installer to boot up, but realized I put in my Leopard disc. Can I put in my Snow Leopard Disc to install? I thought I remember there being some sort of weird thing where I had to install Leopard first before I could install Snow Leopard...Or was that Windows?
     
  5. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #5
    You can use the Snow Leopard disk. The Snow Leopard upgrade-disk also has the full version on it.

    Apple doesn't bother with 134 different versions like Windows :)
     
  6. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    You can use the Snow Leopard disk. No need to install Leopard.
     
  7. guyducati thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL currently, Tuscon AZ soon...
    #7
    Ok...its doing the same thing with the snow leopard disc now. I put the disc in, I get the white screen with the cursor. I hold down Option or C, and nothing happens. After a minute or so it spits out the disc....
     
  8. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #8
    You need to hold down the C-key before you see anything. Turn it on, press and hold C, wait for the disk to load.
     
  9. guyducati thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL currently, Tuscon AZ soon...
    #9
    I did that...still no luck....
     
  10. guyducati thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL currently, Tuscon AZ soon...
    #10
    Anyone? Please?!?!? I'm very stuck and frustrated...
     
  11. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #11
    Press C before you turn on your computer and then turn on your computer WHILE still holding down C
     
  12. guyducati thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL currently, Tuscon AZ soon...
    #12
    Sorry for the stupid question, but nothing else is working haha.

    When should I RELEASE "C?" Will it show the disc if I'm still holding "C" Down?

    Thanks for help BTW!!!
     
  13. guyducati thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago IL currently, Tuscon AZ soon...
    #13
    Update...

    Somehow when I wasn't doing anything differently it went to the installer. Anyways now I'm restoring from my external HDD.

    Thanks for the help everyoone!
     

Share This Page