Resolved White screenshots on High Sierra

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Siannath, May 17, 2019.

  1. Siannath, May 17, 2019
    Last edited: May 21, 2019

    Siannath macrumors member

    Siannath

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Lima, Perú
    #1
    **UPDATE: Problem solved by installing macOS High Sierra on top (without erasing any data).**

    I just recently upgraded to High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G7024) (yes, I'm late to the party) and since the upgrade I got white windows in screenshots.

    Apps run 100% fine, they only look white on screenshots.

    Examples:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Most windows are full or partially white, although sometimes, some windows show its content properly. But most of the time, most windows are white. Even the icons on the desktop are white (the white rectangle without shadow on the right). Even the menu bar is white (when displayed). Happens with 1st party and 3rd party apps.

    I upgraded from Sierra latest version. All works fine. This is the only problem. Machine is Macmini5,2 (mid 2011) with AMD Radeon HD 6630M 256 MB.

    - I tried taking screenshots in **guest user** and **fresh new user** and the issue persists.

    - I tried SMC reset, NVRAM reset, and changing screenshot format go JPG.

    - I did not find anything useful on the internet.

    I am starting to think that this is a graphics issue, maybe caused by hardware or maybe software (drivers).

    I realized that I really need screenshots for my daily usage.

    What would you do to solve/diagnose this issue?

    Thank you for reading.

    PS: I posted first on the macOS High Sierra sub-forum but nobody commented there.

    **UPDATE: Problem solved by installing macOS High Sierra on top (without erasing any data).**
     
  2. Expobill, May 17, 2019
    Last edited: May 17, 2019

    Expobill Suspended

    Expobill

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    #2
    is the java script and permissions updated?
    can you run disk first aid something?
    im trying to remember if your mini makes the cut off for mojave.
    --- Post Merged, May 17, 2019 ---
    also check to see if you can run 3rd party apps in the security part of system preferences in the dock.
    well, check that part of your mini anyways make sure any apps can run .
    hope this works!
     
  3. Siannath thread starter macrumors member

    Siannath

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Lima, Perú
    #3
    System is running perfectly in all regards except this white screenshot issue.

    ?

    Already done, all good.

    Mojave does not run on Macmini5,2 (even with help from dosdude1, this particular computer has unsolvable problems with Mojave).

    ?
     
  4. Expobill Suspended

    Expobill

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    #4
    in "system preferences" there are 3 options were you can see if apps can run, make sure that is set to "run all apps"
    since the white panels are apps on your mini.
    this is my best attempt to help you, other that someone else's advice here.
    i hope this works
     
  5. Siannath thread starter macrumors member

    Siannath

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Lima, Perú
    #5
    Oh, you mean Gatekeeper. I have it set to "anywhere". Anyway, this is not the problem. Thanks for your help, though.

    I edited #1 with this, for clarity: Apps run 100% fine, they only look white on screenshots.
     
  6. Siannath thread starter macrumors member

    Siannath

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Lima, Perú
    #6
    **UPDATE: Problem solved by installing macOS High Sierra on top (without erasing any data).**
     

Share This Page

5 May 17, 2019