Who ever uses their 9600M GT?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macbook123, Dec 26, 2008.

?

Do you make use of the 9600M GT graphics card, and if so, for what?

Poll closed Feb 24, 2009.
  1. I use the faster graphics card often or sometimes (please specify your uses in post)

    46 vote(s)
    51.1%
  2. I always just use the slower graphics card (the 9400)

    44 vote(s)
    48.9%
  1. macbook123 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    #1
    Just wondering, as I don't have use for this right now. Also, what will be possible uses once Snow Leopard comes out? The card makes the laptop run really hot.
     
  2. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Use the 9600 once a week MAYBE when I run parallels or when I'm hogging RAM elsewhere.
     
  3. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #3
    I use it on the rare occasion I'm working in iMovie. I'll be getting a real camcorder pretty soon though, so I'll be using iMovie more (and the 9600 by virtue of that).

    It does make the machine run a heckuva lot hotter. Thank God for smcFanControl. As for Snow Leopard....we know its bringing system-wide GPGPU spport, although how much stuff we'll have to take advantage of that, who knows. Apple, of course, will show you a benchmark of iMovie 09 showing a 7x speedup in encoding, and try to pass that off as something every app can achieve. (it won't, GPGPU only works in certain situations).

    There is a CHANCE that switching GPUs will get easier too. The logout thing is due to software issue within OS X, not a hardware compatibility issue. Considering all the rewriting they are doing for Snow Leopard, I'd say there's at least a chance we'll get the ability to switch GPUs on the fly, or even automatic switching based on load.
     
  4. paulinbognor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    #4
    I use it for Aperture/iphoto, a bit of gaming. My wife probably uses it more when i forget to turn it off and she uses it by accident when she logs in :)
     
  5. mAc-warrior macrumors member

    mAc-warrior

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    #5
    I use it a fair amount for gaming under OS X.

    --mAc
     
  6. digitard macrumors 6502a

    digitard

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
  7. RobT macrumors 6502a

    RobT

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #7
    I use my laptop plugged in and set to the 9600 all of the time
     
  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    You do realize that if you don't use your 9600M, you paid a minimum of $500 for a SCREEN, right?
     
  9. tcphoto macrumors 6502a

    tcphoto

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    Madison, GA
    #9
    I use the 9600 most of the time. I edit images and want the highest performance available. It's only when I am on location and need longer battery life or just online that I use the 9400.
     
  10. macbook123 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    #10
    Yes, I do. And I didn't like doing it but sometimes one has to make unpleasant compromises. I need a lot of screen area as I have multiple windows open at the same time (on multiple Spaces) for programming, etc, while traveling. And the 1440x900 of the MBP is really not high-resolution enough either, so I even thought about buying from a different company (higher resolution screens are now standard except for, surprisingly, Apple), but couldn't convince myself to abandon OS X and move back to Linux.

    However the 13.3 inch screens pixel number is just unusable for my work needs. If they had 1440x900 resolution, like Sony's/IBM's/etc ~13 inch monitors, I'd have happily gone with a MB or MBA.
     
  11. kockgunner macrumors 68000

    kockgunner

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #11
    I've seen a lot of other laptops with the same resolution as the macbook pro. I agree, they need a higher resolution screen option though.
     
  12. Ampidire macrumors 6502

    Ampidire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #12
    If I'm plugged in, I'm on the 9600M GT, otherwise I swap to the 9400M. Oh, my laptop hasn't left my room or it's power cord for 2 weeks :p

    So yeah.

    I use the 9600M GT a lot, I paid for it, and it gives me that edge I need for perfectly smooth 1080P playback to my new HDTV. All I need to complete the experience is a bluetooth keyboard and mouse so I don't have to trail wires across the room :p
     
  13. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #13
    If I'm playing a game or an application that would benefit from it (i.e. Photoshop) I'll use the 9600M GT.

    Most of the time though the 9400M is good enough, plus the extra bit of battery life.

    The 9600M GT doesn't give me smooth 1080p playback where as the 9400M does. Obviously a driver issue here that Apple has yet to resolve. It is also a known issue/wide spread.

    I'd be interested to know what 1080p files are playing back fine for you on the 9600M GT.
     
  14. Warranty Voider macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Maine, US
    #14
    I almost always use the 9600. I'm playing games to much to switch it back. The only time I have it on the 9400 is when I'm in school and need the battery life. Like someone else said, there's no point in buying the MBP unless you're going to use the 9600.
     
  15. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #15
    FireWire 800, ExpressCard slot, bigger screen and better quality screen..
     
  16. masse macrumors 6502a

    masse

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Location:
    MA/GA
    #16
    I only use it in windows and if I'm doing some photoshop or imovie. Really don't see much use for it in osx (for my needs anyway).
     
  17. NATO macrumors 68000

    NATO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #17
    Yeah, you're absolutely right - but the screen on the MacBook was terrible enough for that to be a price I was willing to pay :rolleyes:

    I don't think I've used the 9600M once since I've got it, I just use the 9400 for better power consumption. It's nice that it's there in case I really do need it though, it would be better if it automatically used the 9600M when using the power adapter, the whole 'log out/log in' switching is what puts me off using the 9600M more
     
  18. c3m macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #18
    i use it when i use aperture
    couple times a week.
     
  19. Peshwari macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #19
    I use it one a daily basis as a design and photographer i'm always using photoshop, illustrator, indesign and aperture.

    It kills the battery on my MBP 2.53Ghz, i'm lucky if I get 2 hours of battery life
     
  20. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
  21. DYER macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #21
    I use the 9600M GT when at the office or at home. When using PS CS4 i feels it makes a decent difference and at home i use it when gaming... for some reason some things, like preview and quicktime are more stable with the 9600m vs. the 9400m
    At uni or on the go i normally use the 9400m. Its a 35/65 cut to the 9600m gt for me.
     
  22. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #22
    No it does not, Aperture works just fine on the 9400m
    You will probably see a slight bump in responsiveness from the 9600 but is in no way "required" :)
     
  23. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #23
    Well, I probably shouldnt say "required" because I use Aperture on the Unibody MacBook right now.

    However, I was planning for my upcoming 17" to solely use 9400M in OSX since the only "intensive" thing I do in OSX is photo editing and thats it. I'd figure Aperture is a more processor intensive program rather than GPU intensive.
     
  24. mknawabi macrumors 6502

    mknawabi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #24
    I do, when I restart in bootcamp to play L4D and TF2.
     
  25. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #25
    Yeah Aperture just eats RAM and CPU. You would free up some RAM with the 9600 though because the 9400 takes 256mb right off the bat.
     

Share This Page