Who has interest in the Nook Tablet?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by PDFierro, Nov 7, 2011.

1. PDFierro macrumors 68040

Apologies if this can't be posted here, but I haven't seen it mentioned and there are Kindle Fire threads.

The new Nook tablet that was introduced today looks really good. Anyone going to get it? I know there was plenty interest in the Fire on here.

I've been using Amazon VOD for a few years and always wanted a proper portable device that could play it, but the Nook looks like the better option.

2. MallCop macrumors 6502

Im going to pick it up probably after Christmas. I was looking at the Fire but this just seems much better and I prefer the nook platform. Going to setup a media server with a mac mini and this would be the perfect device for movies on the go.

3. Yr Blues macrumors 68020

4. Sandman1969 macrumors 6502a

Sandman1969

What designer came up with the cut off corner?
    Destroys the look IMO.

And lol about the Barnes and nobles CEO "drubbing" it for 512mb ram.

The iPads perform fine with the same memory footprint. Efficient OS trumps more RAM

5. qtx43 macrumors 6502a

If I wanted a 7" tablet, the nook would be it. Yes, the iPad gets by on 512MB, the original on only 256MB, but it should have had 512MB. But he was comparing to the Kindle Fire, which also runs a version of Android. The killer hardware feature, assuming it works the same was as the Nook Color, is the ability to boot from an SD card, and expand memory with the SD Card.

Much is made of the price, but to stream video on the Fire, you're going to want the $79/year Amazon Prime. Suddenly the price advantage suddenly doesn't seem like much of an advantage. And 8GB for local storage? After at least a couple are gone for Android itself, that's not much.

But like they say, some people won't analyze it much. Just $199 vs. $249.

6. Mac.World, Nov 7, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2011

Mac.World macrumors 68000

Mac.World