Who's using rMB with an external display?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by johngwheeler, May 3, 2015.

  1. johngwheeler macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Location:
    I come from a land down-under...
    #1
    Just wondering how many people are using their rMB regularly with an external display?

    Is the performance affected by driving both internal an external panels (at 1980x1080 or above)?

    Has anyone used a USB-C to DisplayPort or USB-C to DVI cable yet (without Apple's dongle?

    I would really like to see a USB-C to DP cable that is also able to power the rMB, although I'm not sure how any monitors are able to supply power via DP - if any!
     
  2. fatefulwhisper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #2
    I currently have my rMB connected to a 27" DELL monitor via DVI-D at 2560x1440 (using an HDMI to DVI cable). It also works with HDMI at 1080p (my DELL can only go as high as 1080p via HDMI). I'm using Apple's AV Multiport Adaptor (the one w/ the HDMI output), so that I can keep my rMB charged and use the display at the same time. Performance is not affected when using both panels.

    I've also tried using a USB-C to DP cable (from google), and that works perfectly as well. I get the full 2560x1440 resolution via DP. Obviously, the only issue is I'm unable to power the rMB when using that cable.

    There's currently no solution to power the rMB and use DP at the same time, yet. There will be one soon, so all we can do is wait.
     
  3. willcapellaro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #3
    What refresh rate are you getting in 1440?
    How much does the external display affect battery life?
    How does it all "feel" as a desktop compared to other macs?

    ie, How do you actually use your mac for the time being?
     
  4. fatefulwhisper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #4
    60Hz

    No idea. I always have it plugged in when using an ext. display.

    No difference that I can see. Of course, YMMV. I feel this is a pretty subjective question.

    read this post on my day to day usage: http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=21206395&postcount=8
     
  5. rahulr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #5
    Here's my jerry-rigged solution. I have my rMB plugged into an in-wall USB outlet which while not charging the rMB under load, it maintains the charge. Then, when the lid is closed, or brightness is turned way down does begin to charge. In order to deliver a picture to my external, I use airplay mirroring with an apple tv.

    It's not ideal, the picture on the monitor is a little grainy, but it's more than enough for regular office work.

    I'm just waiting for the AV plug and then I'll be golden.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #6
    Out of interest, does the USB-C to DP solution also output the audio over the DP cable?
     
  7. fatefulwhisper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #7
    yes
     
  8. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #8
    Thanks. Get my rMB on Wednesday; do you know if a HDMI to DP lead would work using the Apple AV adaptor, to output on eg a Dell U2515H at 2560x1440 60Hz (and would that carry audio as well)?
     
  9. legioxi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #9
    I'm using the AV adapter from Apple to connect to an HDMI display at 1080p. It is extremely laggy for me. Keep in mind I'm already pushing the laptop without a display by running multiple VMs in Fusion and 10-15 apps, plus 5-10 tabs in Safari. Works quite well for me until I add the display, then UI lag becomes almost unusable.
     
  10. fatefulwhisper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #10
    Why don't you do HDMI->HDMI instead? From what I understand, the U2512H can input 1440p on HDMI, according to this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1875056&highlight=dell+u2515h

    HDMI can carry both audio/video.

    I don't think there's a way to do HDMI->DP with the resolution (1440p) you want.
     
  11. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #11
    Thanks. The U2515H or the U27 only go up to 1080p on HDMI unfortunately (just read reviews and the manuals); I would do HDMI-DVI as you have done, but it doesn't have a DVI input :( It's at a good price (and great reviews) on Amazon so I was hoping to get that one.

    Only options I have are (for 1440p):
    -HMDI to DP lead (if that would work @ 1440p, and even exists!) which I would ideally like to carry the audio as well (the Dell has a 3.5mm audio out on the back)
    -USB-C to DP lead, but then I lose the ability to power the rMB and use the Dell's USB hub...
     
  12. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #12
    - HDMI to DP cables don't exist. DP->HDMI works, but HDMI->DP doesn't. You need an active converter if you want to do that.
     
  13. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
  14. fatefulwhisper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #14
    You should try testing the HDMI if you can, just to confirm if it does in fact go up to 1080p or 1440p; I'm reading conflicting posts from various users here, so you should give it shot for yourself. I have the U2713H, and I know 100% that the HDMI can only do 1080p.

    Before getting the rMB, I did use the displayport cable with a macbook air to get audio + video. Now my current setup is HDMI->DVI, and to do audio, I bought a cheap USB->Audio adapter (like this one: http://www.amazon.com/Syba-SD-CM-UAUD-Adapter-C-Media-Chipset/dp/B001MSS6CS) and plugged the audio from my speakers directly to the USB device (the monitor has a USB hub as well).

    That's my temporary solution until someone comes out with a mini-DP or DP version of the current existing Apple AV Multiport Adapter.
     
  15. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #15
    - According to Page 12 in this manual, it uses HDMI 1.4, which supports up to 4K resolutions.

    I own this monitor, and just a few minutes ago I was able to do 2048x1152 via HDMI using a friend's quite underpowered PC, so it can definitely do above 1080p on HDMI. I suspect the PC just couldn't handle anything above that resolution.
    I have no way of connecting my MBP using a compatible HDMI cable, but a little later I'll try with another friend's more powerful PC to see if it can indeed do 1440p.
     
  16. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #16
    Thanks for your help. Just done a lot of reading as well, and Dell do list 1080p as the highest over HDMI, though I have also read that some people have been able to sort it to do 1440p at 60Hz, using a HDMI 1.3+ cable. So you're right, I'll just give it a try to see if it works, hopefully somehow it will be possible.

    If for any reason this solution doesn't work with the audio over HDMI, the the USB dongle tip is great as well, didn't think of that. Just want to be able to 'dock' my rMB by plugging one cable in if possible...if this works it'll be a nice solution I think.

    ----------

    Thanks; it does use HDMI 1.4, but in the same manual, it only lists up to 1080p over HDMI (in the table where all the resolutions are listed for the different inputs). As you say, if it can do anything above 1080p, it's hopeful it can do the full 1440p as well. Please let me know how you get on? And if possible confirm if it's 60Hz at that res (if it works) as well? Appreciate your help
     
  17. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #17
    - I can't find that. Page number?

    Also see page 34, first OSD "screenshot". It lists "2560x1440, 60Hz" as Maximum for the HDMI input.

    I'll let you know what happens.
     
  18. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #18
    Page 12, MHL (HDMI). Thanks, yes I see what you mean; though that could just be stating the maximum of the display itself (rather than input-specific)? Again thanks for your help :)
     
  19. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #19
    - That's a limitation of the MHL 2.0 standard, which is for use with smartphones and the like, not proper computers. It has no impact on what the HDMI ports are capable of when receiving input from a computer.
     
  20. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #20
    Thanks, the only reason I thought it was linked, is the manual lists - on page 9 - the inputs of the monitor, and just says 'HDMI (MHL)', amongst other places. Thanks for clarifying though.
     
  21. ctyrider macrumors 6502a

    ctyrider

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    #21
    I am running Dell U2515H at 1440p, connected to my MacBook via HDMI cable. So there are no "ifs or buts" about this not working :)
     
  22. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #22
    - Thanks for that. I thought it should work. :)
    60Hz I assume?

    I was able to connect the other PC, but it uses some sort of dual graphics like the MBPs, and I couldn't get it to use its GeForce 630M instead of the integrated HD 4000, so it would only do 2048x1152 at 60Hz.
     
  23. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #23
    Great news!

    ----------

    I assume the audio outputs through your monitor as well (over your HDMI connection)?
     
  24. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #24
    - It definitely does on mine via HDMI.
    It would be quite absurd if that didn't work...
     
  25. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #25
    Just ordered it on Amazon :) Bit blind as I don't have my MB until Wed, and the AV adaptor will be 3-5 weeks (past the return period), hence all the questions! Thanks everyone.
     

Share This Page