Why aren't macs good enough to infect

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by inscrewtable, Sep 13, 2012.

1. inscrewtable macrumors 65816

inscrewtable

It's not fair, for the last 10 years the Mac community has been promised that virus's are coming. Early on apparently we were not worthy, now with the ubiquity of the iPad and other mac os or ios devices we face the final insult.

Instead of virus's coming to mac, they are instead coming preinstalled with PC. When I see stories like this I instinctively check that it's not april 1

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-19585433

2. tech4all macrumors 68040

tech4all

A while back I believe some iPods came "preinstalled" with some malware.

3. Huntn macrumors G5

Huntn

I'm under the impression that the way the MacOSX is put together it's not as friendly towards viruses, but I could be completely wrong...

4. tech4all macrumors 68040

tech4all

Im no expert at all but I've heard that the underlying UNIX is what makes it secure. People will also argue that market share plays a role. If that were true then why did Mac OS 9 have viruses when it had even less market share than OS X does now.

Yes there has been some malware but nothing even close to what Windows has.

5. sviato macrumors 68020

sviato

Too small of a marketshare to focus on imo. Virus makers looking to steal data have so many PC's to target, that even if the virus ends up infecting a smaller amount of them it'll be enough compared to potential Mac infections.

6. G51989 macrumors 68030

G51989

Something like 90 percent of the computers in the world run windows, its well over a billion machines, and most malware and virus's are out to make money. more money in the pc illegal software world.

7. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

mrsir2009