Why did DDR3 10666 not work with my Mac MINI

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by cygmit, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. cygmit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #1
    Hi all,

    I am using Mac Mini from mid 2010, Model Macmini4,1 with 2.4ghz c2d, 2 GB ram DDR3 8500 that can be extended to 8 GB. I tried to install newly bought 8GB DDR3 10666 G.Skill RAM (2x4GB) and when I installed and restarted, I hear beeping noises coming from the computer and it wouldn't boot. I was wondering if the memory are incompatible as I cannot find any information online about it. Would anyone here know?

    Thanks
     
  2. dcoulson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #2
    Sounds like a bad stick - Did you try it with just one or the other, or in a combination with the previous memory you were using?

    I have similar if not identical memory in my 2009 Mini and 2010 MBP that is working fine, so I'd put money on a faulted DIMM.
     
  3. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #3
  4. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #4
    I modded lots of mini's over 80 more like 100. I have found that the 2010 minis were picky about ram then the
    2006
    2007
    2008
    2009 mini's

    Right now I am using an imac 2009 c2d with 4 4 gb sticks of ram from cruical they work great in this c2d 306 imac none of the 4 sticks work in more then 4 2010 minis. these are ddr3 pc-8500 speed 1067 no downclock and 2010 minis don't like them. So I am not surprised they did not want the ddr3 pc-10666 1333 ram from the 2011 mini
     
  5. ratzzo macrumors 6502a

    ratzzo

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    Madrid
    #5
    I'm not sure the C2D is compatible with this year's RAM. But if the G.skill sticks didn't go through, I'd ask for a replacement (of the sticks).
     
  6. krburrell, Aug 1, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2011

    krburrell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #6
    I just installed 8GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) G.Skill RAM (2x4GB) from newegg into my 2010 mini with no problems. I wanted to test the ram out as I am planning to use it in my new 2011 mini when I get it.
     
  7. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #7
    it sounds like 2010 macbook pro's with c2d and nvidia 320m also won't accept 1333mhz ram. possibly a restriction with the 320m sharing the system memory.

    https://discussions.apple.com/message/13163020?messageID=13163020#13163020

    someone in this discussion mentioned a windows app called Thaiphoon Burner that you can use to edit the ram clock frequency.

    i won't be doing that, but tomorrow i will try installing a 1066mhz module in the lower bank and a 1333mhz module in the upper bank. as long as one of the banks matches the 1066 speed, it should be able to clock down the 1333 one.
     
  8. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #8
    Can you verify what RAM you have? There are two different numbers that have been interchanged.

    From what I've tried the mini 4,1 it looks like PC3-10600 (called DDR3 1333MHz) is not good.
    PC3-8500 (called DDR3 1066MHz) is good.

    Is that clear as mud?
     
  9. cygmit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #9
    Thanks for all of your replies. I have tried to pair up the original stick with the new stick and it still won't boot. I am starting to wonder if I got a pair of bad sticks. I bought them from Newegg last week.

    The exact model of the ram that I purchased is DDR3-1333, PC3-10666. 4096MB X 2 CL9-9-9-24 SO-DIMM.

    Anyways, if my mac-mini wouldn't downclock the memory automatically, is there another way to do that?
     
  10. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #10
    ok i got it to work with one of each type. the 1066 in bank0 (lower) and 1333 in bank1 (upper). system profiler reports both speeds to be 1067. so as long as one of them is 1066, it will be able to clock down the 1333. i don't know for certain if the 1066 has to be in bank0 as i didn't test it the other way around.
     
  11. accessoriesguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #11
    Motherboards always clock down to lowest speed, regardless of slot...typically.

    lol under-clocking! i doubt it, since this is similar to overclocking and apple does not allow for that, unless you get some programs or something, you can't do it natively.
     

Share This Page