Why does CFDictionaryGetValue return a const?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by darkandlong, Sep 26, 2011.

1. darkandlong macrumors member

darkandlong

I'm struggling to find any explanation for why CFDictionary methods return consts. Can anyone explain this to me?

2. gnasher729 macrumors P6

gnasher729

Think about where the value originates that CFDictionary returns. Do you know whether that value was const or not? What is safer, if CFDictionary returns a const void* or if it returns a void*?

3. darkandlong thread starter macrumors member

darkandlong

Thanks for replying. I am quite new to the language, so please could you expand on your answer a little. Specifically I am trying to understand how to deal with the value returned to avoid a compiler warning:

I can get rid of the warning by doing the following:

Code:
    id const someValue = CFDictionarySetValue(self.mappingConfigByMediatedObjectClass, mediatedObjectClass, mediatorMapping);
    But I want to understand why this is necessary. Why must I declare a local const variable?

4. jiminaus macrumors 65816

jiminaus

Is there any reason why you're using CFDictionary instead of NSDictionary?

But your posted code is confusing. CFDictionarySetValue doesn't return anything. CFDictionaryGetValue returns something, but only take 2 paramaters.

5. darkandlong thread starter macrumors member

darkandlong

Sorry. Was very early in the morning.

I am using CFMutableDictionary because I need to use keys that are not copied. I am programming in cocoa touch so this is unfortunately my only option as I have no access to NSHashTable.

The correct code should have been:

id<SomeProtocol> someObject = CFDictionaryGetValue(self.someDictionary, someObjectAsKey);

So if I set someObject as a const I lose the warning.

6. gnasher729, Sep 27, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011

gnasher729 macrumors P6

gnasher729