Why does Crysis keep crashing on my MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by smallnshort247, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. smallnshort247 macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #1
    Hey guys,

    So I've heard everyone and their moms use the phrase "but can it run Crysis" as if it's a benchmark for how good of a computer you really have. So I figured, why not buy it and try it out. So via bootcamp I installed Crysis on my MBP via Steam. Installed it and tried playing it, but it keeps crashing. It works till I get to the actual loading screen to begin the first mission, and then the screen goes black. Then I usually shut the lid and open it back up..then I have to login to Windows 7 again, only to see a "Crysis crashed" pop up. I didn't raise the graphics settings. In fact, I tried lowering them all the way to 800 something, and it's still crashing. What's wrong? Read my signature to see the specs of my 2010MBP. I figured it could run it, and I've seen other MBP's of my same year and model run it too (on youtube).
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #3
    How can I check? I installed the Apple drivers, would those be it?
     
  4. Huntn macrumors P6

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #4
    FYI, Crysis runs on my 3 year old MBP in the range of 15-25fps. Off hand I don't know why it's crashing for you.
     
  5. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #5
    For the first mission, once the loading bar gets to about 80% it stops moving and sometimes the screen goes black but the MBP is clearly still on. I may have to try reinstalling the game and see if that works.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Should be these.
     
  7. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
  8. fortunecookie macrumors regular

    fortunecookie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    #8
    Did reinstalling work? If not, try downloading the installer again or try the dvd version of the installer if you get one.
     
  9. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #9
    How do you know hes on 64bit?

    Try 32bit drivers OP. Also make sure you have Crysis Patched.
     
  10. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #10
    When you say try 32bit do you mean reinstall windows 7 as 32 bit? Because right now I have 64bit installed. And reinstalling the game didn't seem to work either. :(
     
  11. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #11
    I do see that I have about 60 Windows updates I need to install since I just installed Windows 7 on it. Hopefully that fixes the problem! I'll keep you guys posted, thanks for the help!
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    Oh, sorry, I though you had 2011 MBP. Here are the drivers you need. Installing the Windows updates may fix it though.
     
  13. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #13
    I'll download that too along w/ updating Windows and I'll see if that works! By the way, is there anyway to zoom in on the screen like we can in OS X? I think that's one of my favorite features on the Mac, and I'm always having a hard time reading the small letters if I can't zoom in :/
     
  14. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #14
    Thanks everyone for your help! The game runs now!
     
  15. Huntn macrumors P6

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #15
    So did you update drivers or run Windows update or both?
    Thanks!
     
  16. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #16
    I thought so too. lol
     
  17. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #17
    I did both, so I'm not exactly sure which one was the true fix..or maybe both of them were. The is however another problem. It seems as if Crysis only starts/allows me to play when it randomly wants to. It worked earlier today but I tried starting it up again now and it is crashing again. Not sure what to think.
     
  18. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #18
    So now it's not letting me even get to the menu screen. When I boot the game up It goes to a black screen and stays there. Then I shut the laptop because I can't do anything else and then when I log back in it says something about it not working. Do you think if I installed Windows 7 in 32bit instead of 64 bit that it would help the issue?
     
  19. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #19



    I hear that the 80% loading crash is a problem with ported version also, not certain about the Mac driver updates.
     
  20. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #20
    Crysis runs fine for me under 64bit windows. Contact software maker for support.

    You DID buy it didn't you? :rolleyes:
     
  21. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #21
    Yeah, I purchased it off Steam. I usually play all my Mac or PC games through Steam and just use Bootcamp for the games that aren't Mac supported.
     
  22. smallnshort247 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    smallnshort247

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #22
    So I have another update for you guys. I ended up reinstalling Windows 7 as 32bit then reinstalled Steam and the games etc. Crysis ran fine both times before I even installed the Windows 7 updates. So once again, thank you guys for your help. Hopefully this thread helps anyone out there in the future who also came across this problem..because I was depending on a few threads as old as 5 or more years old from other forums :eek:
     

Share This Page