Why does heart recovery graph only show 1 reading?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by ZestyOne, Oct 7, 2017.

  1. ZestyOne macrumors regular

    ZestyOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Paradise
    #1
    This has happened on multiple outdoor running workouts. I'll start the workout, run for 20 minutes, click "end" the second I stop running.

    When I go to the 'recovery heart rate' chart, theres always a single red dot as if it took only 1 reading instead of many readings as my heart goes back go resting.

    It's happened multiple times... am I doing something wrong? My girlfriend's recovery graph works great.
     
  2. tcellguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    #2

    I have the same issue. I’m not sure how the recordings are supposed to be captured. Are you supposed to leave the exercise going and just stop running? Or are you supposed to go into the heart rate up and leave it running? I have tried both and do not get more than one minute of recordings.
     
  3. ZestyOne thread starter macrumors regular

    ZestyOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Paradise
    #3
    Apple support was useless, basically told me to repair the watch because heart monitor might be broken. It obviously works because I just had multiple 2-hour runs where it worked perfectly nonstop, and only fails on the heart recovery
     
  4. tcellguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    #4
    That's frustrating. When is the watch supposed to be checking the recovery heart rate? Is is part of the work-out app?
     
  5. ZestyOne, Oct 7, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2017

    ZestyOne thread starter macrumors regular

    ZestyOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Paradise
    #5
    It's supposed to do it at the end of using the 'workout' app. I just reset calibration data, re-paired with phone, still same thing
    --- Post Merged, Oct 7, 2017 ---
    Here's data for 2 separate runs (one heavy, one easy), you can see how the heart sensor works perfect and then it takes a crap during recovery...
    --- Post Merged, Oct 7, 2017 ---
    I think it's 2 mins max that will be recorded, but do you see lots of red dots on it, or do you just see a single dot?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. tcellguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    #6
    Mine does the same. I have like 1 or two dots for the whole 2 minutes
     
  7. virginblue4 macrumors 68000

    virginblue4

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Strange. I’ve done two workouts this week. One has recovery data, the other doesn’t even give me the option to look at recovery data.

    386432CC-52AA-41D1-A880-36F9EEC17AF6.png EEEAF4D6-B84A-4921-9007-D7FBA6812AB5.png
     
  8. Achilles75, Oct 8, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2017

    Achilles75 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #8
    Ditto. This must be a bug or sync problem of some sort.

    Some workouts I will have substantial recovery data showing in the Activity app on my iPhone, other workouts will show nothing at all - can’t even access the recovery screen on the phone - it's just blank when I swipe right. And as a previous poster said, I know the HR monitor is working because I get full data during the workout (and all day long, and with my sleep app, etc.)

    I also just noticed this today - in my workout this morning, there is no recovery data showing in the iPhone Activity app. But if I go into the Heart Rate app on the watch itself and scroll down, there is recovery data from my workout, including the graph if I tap on it. So again, it's clear the HR monitor is working properly.
     
  9. matrix07 macrumors 601

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #9
    Was your other one the last workout?
     
  10. ZestyOne thread starter macrumors regular

    ZestyOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Paradise
    #10
    Interesting... Let me ask you this, because this is my current prediction (I have yet to test it).

    On my workouts where it didn't work, I remember I hit 'end workout' the very second I crossed the mile mark (I was still running hard). After I hit end is when i sat down, got in the car and drove off (no walk-down)

    My other workout, I hit end workout the very second i was done running, then i worked about 5 minutes to warm down (I hit end before I walked)

    When you did your workout, did you include the warmdown IN the workout itself before you hit 'end'?

    If you did that, (and its required for the warmdown to be in the workout), that seems like a very bad bug/feature because that will throw off all the times/distances/pace....
     

Share This Page

9 October 7, 2017