Why doesn't Apple have to post all the Specs (specifically RAM)?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Jezal, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. Jezal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #1
    I am just curious why they are allowed to sell a technical product without outlining the most basic technological specifications like RAM or CPU speed?
    I would definitely buy the new Iphone with 2GB of RAM, but with 1GB I will probably pass. I think it is ridicoulous that we have to wait for some third party website to take the device apart and tell us what exactly they built in. :rolleyes:
     
  2. HolyGrail macrumors 6502

    HolyGrail

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #2
    I really don't think it matters since the iphone still today has the most fluidness software of any other phone to this day. IOS is like 6 cylinder engine with tires filled with air. Android is like a 8 cylinder engine but with flat tires. All that engine power don't mean much, if you're software isn't optimize for it.
     
  3. Newtons Apple Suspended

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #3
    Very few, here, are complaining.

    At this point it will not change.
     
  4. Mercenary macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #4
    What would you do with that info?

    The reason others post it is they see it as a selling point
    "Hey, buy our phone! It has 1GB more than the other guy" and people who have no idea what RAM actually means think "Duh, I must have the one with more ram because its a higher number...."

    The great thing about the iPhone is... it just works. IT manages your open apps, does its thing with ram better than the rest.

    Lets say they put 4GB of ram in it??? What does that mean to you?
     
  5. Caliber26 macrumors 68000

    Caliber26

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #5
    Great analogy.
     
  6. Jezal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #6
    It means that when I switch from Tapatalk to Safari and then back to Tapatalk, not the whole damn App has to reload and my specific thread position is lost everytime, everyday. That is what it does and that is why the iPhone has already not enough RAM.
     
  7. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #7
    Does it matter if the RAM is 1GB or 2GB? If all your apps are running smoothly for the next 2-3 years (the average duration of phone usage before upgrading), why does it matter? Not like the iPhone is sanctioned to be flashed with different firmware like Android phones are. I understand wanting more specs on Android because you can tinker with a lot of the software and in general the OS that comes with the phone is less fluid but you're probably not going to do that with the iPhone.
     
  8. Jezal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #8
    Except that it doesn't fluidly multitask as lined out in my reply above.
     
  9. HolyGrail macrumors 6502

    HolyGrail

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #9
    Multitasking.....at least to much of it sucks for a mobile device.....eats up way to much battery power keeping everything running in the background.
     
  10. illutionz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #10
    Heh, I suppose. I never ran into that problem because I always fully close every single app.
     
  11. KenAFSPC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #11
    The CPU frequency and RAM on the iPhone tell you nothing about its performance compared to non-Apple phones. Apple already has graphs on its web site to illustrate the performance differences among the various iPhones.

    Sticking with 1GB RAM ensures that developers will continue to create apps that function well on all IOS devices. With Android, we've seen that phones with different / larger memory configurations have led to applicant "bloat" (i.e., poorly written apps) that only run well on the latest phones with the fastest processors and the most memory. Apple has largest avoided these problems on its IOS platform.

    You didn't mention screen resolution, but retaining a modest screen resolution helps Apple to deliver superior 3D performance. The higher the resolution of the display, the lower the phone's graphics performance at a given level of 3D processing power. A device with a 4 million pixel screen with have roughly half the 3D performance of a device with a 2 million pixel screen given a comparable CPU/GPU. People have reported essentially no benefit to the iPhone 6 Plus's higher PPI screen, which shows that Apple has hit a good balance with the iPhone 5S and iPhone 6 screens.
     
  12. revs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    #12
    Also depending on the throughput of the latest solid state memory in the iPhone, more ram may be less important.

    I'm not saying I wouldn't mind more ram, but if the 6 can load the app from ssd quick enough, its less of an issue.
     
  13. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    I'm thinking its not an important metric for them to release. The fact that they never have done it for an iPhone/iPad yet seems to indicate that they're not really going to either.
     
  14. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #14
    WAY too may Apple apologists on this thread. The OP is absolutely correct in what they are saying. Also, 1GB (if that's indeed what is has) is plainly insufficient as demonstrated for two years on the i5 and 5S.
     
  15. G-Ziss macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #15
    gsmarena says the 6+ will have 2GB RAM. I hope they're right!
     
  16. HolyGrail macrumors 6502

    HolyGrail

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #16
    Really? Can you give an example where you find the 5s lacking in speed compared to any other phone?
     
  17. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #17
    Not speed, RAM. There are numerous posts describing the issues and you must have seen them.

    ----------

    You shouldn't have to close every single app and every single browser tab. Whatever happened to usability and, er, multitasking?
     
  18. HolyGrail macrumors 6502

    HolyGrail

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #18
    Well then.....what real world example of ram do you see the 5s is lacking compared to every other phone out there?
     
  19. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #19
    Browser tab reloading and app reloading, or 'refreshing' if you choose to see it as a positive feature.
     
  20. Steve121178 macrumors 68040

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #20
    I've never had a problem with RAM with any iPhone or my iPad. I guess it depends on what you are doing as everyone's mileage is going to vary isn't it?

    My main and only serious gripe with the iPhone is battery life.
     
  21. HolyGrail macrumors 6502

    HolyGrail

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #21
    Refreshing isn't ram. When a page is opened and sits there that is ram. Auto refreshing is just refreshing the same page....same ram.
     
  22. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #22
    Nobody is ever required to put specifications. The website could be just a picture of the iPhone with a buy now button and nothing else. There's no rule or law about it.
     
  23. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #23
    Why do they quote battery life then?
    Yet they erase the protruding camera from stock photos and don't mention the RAM. It's like they're embarrassed about these things....and millions of people pre-order these devices without knowing much about them. Hehe.
     
  24. ZombiePete macrumors 68020

    ZombiePete

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #24
    Interesting mindset. Which dictator would you like to decree that Apple must disclose information to you?
     
  25. gregrose macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #25
    The apple fanboys blind as usual. 1 gig of ram is pathetic, 3 years in a row for 1 gig of ram and you are ok with spending hundreds of dollars? My apps reload all the time because of 1 gig of ram. Very disappointed that apple cheaper out again on us, just like 16gig still being the base model.
     

Share This Page