Why doesn't apple want us to have a task killer or memory cleaner

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by himynameiscody, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. himynameiscody macrumors 6502a

    himynameiscody

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    SystemStatus
     
  2. jabingla2810 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #2
    It's 2011

    Its an iPhone not a PC

    RAM manages itself, so don't worry about it.
     
  3. macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #3
    It doesn't. No app can clear ram if your phone gets slow kill all apps and power cycle. Plus iOS manages ram itself.
     
  4. TM WAZZA macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    #4
    This isn't Android you don't need to do that stuff.
     
  5. himynameiscody thread starter macrumors 6502a

    himynameiscody

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    The iPhone 4s was supposed to have great battery life, the update was suppose to fix that, but for many it didn't. If apple said the iPhone could swim would you believe that?
     
  6. hwojtek macrumors 65816

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #6
    Seems you have been told this app clears RAM and believed it. Apparently you're much more naive than most iPhone owners.
     
  7. himynameiscody thread starter macrumors 6502a

    himynameiscody

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Watch YouTube review. I messages developer he said it clears background apps
     
  8. TheSuperSteve macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    #8
    Yeah, its not needed on an iPhone since they have plenty of ram. But iPod touches and first generation iPads can get really slow if you don't clear the ram.
     
  9. himynameiscody thread starter macrumors 6502a

    himynameiscody

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Plenty of ram? Okay that is invalid. And to those saying its not needed....then why waste my time closing background apps. There should be something that doe it all at once to save time.


    How often do you guys reset? And which one do you do? Hold home and sleep?
     
  10. yeah macrumors 6502a

    yeah

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #10
    The easiest way is.....
    Double click home button
    Tap and hold an app
    Click the red - on all of them :D
     
  11. Lee Adama macrumors regular

    Lee Adama

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #11
    yeah!! if the guy posted a youtube video and said it works, then it must work!!!

    If its on the internet, it must be TRUE!!!!!!!!
     
  12. treyjustice macrumors 65816

    treyjustice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    TX
    #12
    I use iPhone 4 and never have to clear RAM or reset... I don't believe apps in the app store are allowed to access RAM and things like that though.
     
  13. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #13
    I use memory booster hd on my 256mb devices, but on 512mb, you don't need it.
     
  14. himynameiscody thread starter macrumors 6502a

    himynameiscody

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #14
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Without ram they wouldn't run...
     
  15. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #15
    So I checked out the app and there's no mention of it clearing RAM...or did I miss it? Please advise.
     
  16. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #16
    there is a memory "release"
     
  17. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #17
    Ah, I see it now. Interesting. I wonder how that works...
     
  18. himynameiscody thread starter macrumors 6502a

    himynameiscody

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I emailed the guy and he said don't do it unles you are sure you dont need any apps open, it will terminate Some
     
  19. himynameiscody thread starter macrumors 6502a

    himynameiscody

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #19
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I emailed the guy and he said not to do it unless you didn't need your apps open. Therefore the
    Memory being freed up is random access memory
     
  20. himynameiscody thread starter macrumors 6502a

    himynameiscody

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Exactly, takes longer than I want it to
     
  21. asleep macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #21
    Who knew iPhone memory needed to randomly "release"...

    Sort of like we do?

    I wonder, if the memory has not "released" for a long time does it turn blue. :confused:
     
  22. himynameiscody thread starter macrumors 6502a

    himynameiscody

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #22
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    The whole iOS doesn't need to free up ram isn't 100% true. What is that feature called anyways. Do other phones do it now too
     
  23. macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #23
    How do you know it isn't true? One of the main points of apples multitasking is it smartly manages system resources to make sure you don't run out.
     
  24. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #24
    You must be pretty gullible if you believe that.
     
  25. DirtySocks85 macrumors 65816

    DirtySocks85

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    #25
    My guess (particularly since this app is available via the App Store) is that this app attempts to allocate a ton of RAM for itself. In such an event, iOS will begin clearing up RAM from other apps if needed. Then when this app is done it releases all of it's bullied memory. At least that makes the most sense from a development standpoint if you're going to adhere to the developer rules for App Store submission.
     

Share This Page