Why don't I have garageband?!?!?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by xodonniedarko, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. xodonniedarko macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #1
    I have leopard now and for some reason I no longer have Garageband????

    Can I now only buy it?
     
  2. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
  3. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #3
    If you did a fresh install, then GarageBand, iLife etc which came with your Mac have gone, but you should be able to reinstall it from the original DVD disks.
     
  4. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

    Stampyhead

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    You can reinstall iLife from your Tiger install disks (I'm assuming that's what you had before Leopard)
     
  5. xodonniedarko thread starter macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    Would my mini have come with a tiger disk?

    I bought it so long ago I wouldn't remember.
    I guess I'll have to check the box!
     
  6. xodonniedarko thread starter macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #6
    Okay I have my tiger disk but my only option is to install.


    what do I do to get my iLife back?
     
  7. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #7
    iLife should be on Disk 2, but you have to use Disk 1 to execute the install. On inserting the Tiger Disk 1 you should see a pkg that says "Install Bundled Software Only". When you get to the Install selection, choose Customize and select the iLife apps you want to install. The installer will prompt you to insert Disk 2. Don't forget to do updates after everything's done.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #8
    Excellent post - very useful, and informative, thanks.

    Sorry I can't give you reps :(

     
  9. xodonniedarko thread starter macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    Well I guess i'm screwed because my Tiger installation cds is actually a DVD. and when I try to hit the install, it just says my computer isn't compatible. so...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #10
    Are these the disks that came with the machine? If so, something's screwy. Did you just try to open the Optional Installs?
     
  11. xodonniedarko thread starter macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #11
    Nope, it's a DVD given to me from an apple employee :O :D

    [​IMG]
     
  12. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #12
    That sounds right, being a DVD - my guess is that you have the wrong disks.

    I had a problem with my MB disk, and tried to use a friend's MBP disks - no joy. Sounds similar in your case. Check the OS, and the disks you have been given to see if they are compatible.

    EDIT: Just had a thought, try double clicking on Optional Installs and see if that gives you the options to install the apps you need.
     
  13. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #13
    Ouch. Without the original disks, you're left with finding someone that has the same rig you do and borrowing both install disks or biting the bullet & buying iLife '08. If you have access to a Uni bookstore, it's like $39.
     
  14. xodonniedarko thread starter macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #14
    Heck no I'm not going to spend a dime on garageband.
    I just want it so I can cut up some songs and make ringtones.

    so I guess it'd be easier to ask, what other music editing software can I get?
     
  15. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  16. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
  17. xodonniedarko thread starter macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #17
    Just saw that on google! Gotta love the G-money :)
     
  18. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #18
    And it is an excellent app too!
     
  19. xodonniedarko thread starter macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #19
    Although I'm not sure how to use it!!!!


    I just need to cut out certain parts of the song, and save it as its own file.
    It wont let me do it!
     
  20. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #20
    AFAIR, copy and then paste into a new file - let me know if not.
     
  21. xodonniedarko thread starter macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #21
    okay now it's working! it wouldn 't be fore and i'm not sure why

    thanks guys!
     
  22. funkychunkz macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #22
    Hmm... It looks like the installer thinks that garageband was installed (hence the update tag). It probably sees a receipt for it, but why?

    As long as the disk is for the right architecture (ie. PPC or Intel) there's nothing technically preventing you from installing those applications. Just load up the package in Pacifist and do an install from there.
     
  23. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
  24. xodonniedarko thread starter macrumors 6502

    xodonniedarko

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
  25. riscy macrumors 6502a

    riscy

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    China
    #25
    It is an encoder format for MP3 - you might want to install it for Audacity. It is a standard format and very good.

     

Share This Page