Why is 4gb ram the the ceiling?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by auhlixer, Oct 17, 2008.

  1. auhlixer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #1
    With snow leopard coming out you would of thought it would be bumped to 8gb.
     
  2. dinaluvsApple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #2
    8gb wouldnt make a difference when the video card would be a limiting factor on performance. 4gb is more than enough for normal people, which is what the 13 inch is made for.
    im betting the 17" pro they are gonna release will support upwards of 10gb.
     
  3. sfwalter macrumors 68000

    sfwalter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    #3
    I believe it has to do with the chipset. I've heard of people putting more than 4gb but it usually causes the machine to shutdown because of overheating.
     
  4. sfwalter macrumors 68000

    sfwalter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    #4
    I doubt it since the 15" MBP support only 4GB.
     
  5. dinaluvsApple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #5
    trust me, if the 17" was going to be same they would of released it at the same time.
    they will give major bumps to specs and give it fw to appease the "pro" starbucks people.
     
  6. sfwalter macrumors 68000

    sfwalter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    #6
    I guess time will tell. Btw the 15" MBP has firewire.
     
  7. dinaluvsApple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    not the 400 though.
     
  8. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #8
    Aint 800 backwards compatable ??
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    4gb isnt the limit, you can go buy 8gb and put it in if you want.. the system will run pathetically slow though.

    MBP's can run up to 6gb of RAM perfectly, with no slow down in performance.
     
  10. sfwalter macrumors 68000

    sfwalter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    #10
    It is with an adapter. If I had a $1 to bet I would bet 17" will be exactly like the 15" that was just introduced. The 17" may have a bit faster processor and higher resolution but thats about it.
     
  11. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #11
    Similar models can support 8GB, but not many places sell 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMMs.
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    they may offer a bigger capacity of HD's, might be extra ports (if they dont **** it up like they have done with the new MBP's), POSSIBLY a blu-ray reader/writer of some sort (12.5mm is a lot cheaper and stuff), i highly doubt they will though.
     
  13. MagicWok macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #13
  14. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #14
    Thanks but i was just trying to be funny meaning its backwards compatable
     
  15. auhlixer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
  16. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    try read post#9 again...
     
  17. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

    chrmjenkins

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #17
    With all 64 bit operating systems, it will always be a chipset or technology limitation, where the technology limitation is how many GBs they can fit on a DIMM. (The OS could limit it as well, but theoretically they should support 2^64 Bytes of RAM).

    In this case, the current chipset limitation is 4 GB (for new nvidia chipsets). It is limited specifically by the chipset because the RAM ceiling directly affects the number of address lines the bus needs.
     
  18. Harmush macrumors 6502a

    Harmush

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #18
    how much could i technically put in my intel imac them.
    its the new one. core 2 duo 2.4ghz
     
  19. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #19
    Santa Rosa supports 8 GB of RAM. At the time it was hard enough to even get a hold of 2 x 2 GB for a reasonable price.

    I suspect that the nVidia chipset does support 8 GB as well but the price of a DDR3 SODIMM is what's preventing Apple from offering the option.

    8 GB should work just fine on a Santa Rosa MacBook. It's thought the the 8 GB of RAM in addition to mapping the video RAM as well on a MacBook Pro is causing problems and limiting them to 6 GB.
     
  20. Aranince macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #20
    The Macbooks/Pros do support 8Gb of ram. The only problem is finding two 4Gb DDR3 sticks for a good price, or even finding a place that sells them.
     
  21. chrmjenkins macrumors 603

    chrmjenkins

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    #21
    Apple's website mentions 4gb as the ceiling, but that may well be the paper limit mentioned in another thread.

    Someone just needs to buy this: http://www.crucial.com/store/partspecs.aspx?imodule=ct2kit51264bc1067

    and we're on our way to testing the true limit.
     
  22. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #22
    This may seem a little flagrant but really if you are buying a MacBook then you do not need 8GB RAM.
     
  23. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #23
    that isnt the limit, the limit is 8gb of RAM, this has been tested by a user on this forum. there are no problems addressing the 8gb but the system doesnt run very fast, 6gb seems to be the limit for the best performance ratio.

    sure you do, what if you run 3 VM's? + PS + editing in HD, that would require a ton of RAM.
     
  24. Dybbuk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #24
    Yes, but it will certainly lengthen the usable life of the machine.
     
  25. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #25
    This is exactly my point - if you're doing this sort of thing - certainly "editing in HD" then you will not be buying a MacBook in the first place.
     

Share This Page