Why is there no quad option for the 21?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bmstrong, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. bmstrong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    #1
    Frustrates me to no end. Why not offer a 21 quad? Heat? Or Apple just being Apple? Any chance we might see one in the new year?
     
  2. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
  3. BryanLyle macrumors 6502a

    BryanLyle

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    #3
    Yup. Not enough room to get all that heat out of the case.
     
  4. shanmugam macrumors 68020

    shanmugam

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Blazer town!
    #4
  5. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
    #5
    probably too small to shove a quad chip in it. Then again Apple only likes having those options on high end models.
     
  6. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6
    What will most likely happen is apple will use the Clarksfield for these come next upgrade.
    Popular speculation for these past iMacs that were just recently released was the idea of them getting Clarksfield-- but lo' and behold they got the desktop grade lynnfield line up of cpus.
     
  7. trip1ex macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #7
    to bump customers up to a higher pricepoint.

    Might be a heat reason since they are using i5/i7 desktop cpus.
     
  8. mgzilla macrumors member

    mgzilla

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    It's the reason Apple made the new ones 27"...more room for more heat. 21" and apparently I would guess even 24" was just not enough room for them to have a current quad core processor in.
     
  9. stonemann macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #9
    I think you're right first time. As for the heat issue, I thought the quad-cores were supposed to be more power efficient and run cooler than dual-core machines.

    Are people suggesting that the dual-core machines run cooler and more efficiently than the high-end quad-core processors? If that's the case I might seriously consider getting a dual-core machine...
     
  10. Scott6666 macrumors 65816

    Scott6666

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #10
    What is specific chip for the Core 2 Duo model? Is it the E7600 Wolfdale?

    If so the TDP on that is 65W.

    The i5 and i7's are only 82W. Doesn't seem like the additional 17W would make that much difference to dissipate?
     
  11. bmstrong thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    #11
    The greater question, to myself, triggered by your answers is:

    When might we see the quads in Apple's laptop line? If this is a heat issue, as suggested, and a 21 iMac can't handle the heat? How is a 13 Macbook Pro going to by early 2010?
     
  12. camgrant84 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    #12
    The 27" are using Desktop Chips. They have a higher TDP which causes them to run hotter.

    Threads here imply Apple is waiting for Arrandale (a low power usage notebook version of i5/7) before putting them in mbp's.

    If there is ever a quad in the 21.5" it won't be the desktop version. As to fitting them in a mbp, the notebook version does not compare to the TDP of the desktop version. Arrandale notebook chips use at most 35W TDP. The chips in 27" imacs are 95W TDP.

    I'm no expert on this so any technical misdescription etc..... whatever.. but hope it helps
     
  13. bmstrong thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    #13
    Very much so. I'm not ashamed to admit I know very little about this stuff. It's why I asked the questions I did. Many thanks for the info.
     
  14. shanmugam macrumors 68020

    shanmugam

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Blazer town!
    #14
    and future core i5s are 32nm so that should help heat.

    the current Core i5 750 is 45nm
     
  15. trip1ex macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #15
    Core2Duos in iMacs are mobile cpus.

    i5 and i7 in the Imac are desktop cpus.
     
  16. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #16
    I think the 3.33 GHz C2D option with a 1333 MHz FSB is a desktop cpu...could be wrong.
     
  17. shanmugam macrumors 68020

    shanmugam

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Blazer town!
    #17
    nope they are standard desktop CPUs E7600 and E8600

    actually for normal usage all the new iMac models are pretty fast (may be low end integrated graphics) and u can up the memory to 8GB easily

    with upcoming Core i5 Dual Core, 32nm, DMI will fast when imacs are upgraded next time in 6 to 8 months
     
  18. NathanCH macrumors 65816

    NathanCH

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #18
    Couldn't they just make it a bit fatter? I don't think people really care about the width for desktops do they? Oh well, I have a feeling we will see quads in the 21.5" in about a years time.
     
  19. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #19
    Right.

    Link to Intel.
     
  20. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #20
    The dual-core doesn't produce less heat when it does the same amount of work as a quad-core. The difference is that the quad-core can do twice as much work in the same time, and will produce more heat when it does that.
     

Share This Page