Why mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by icecone, Nov 26, 2007.

1. icecone macrumors regular

I'm not a mac newbie.
    www.apple.com/getamac

secure?
    yeah, mac os x is secured since it's unix-based. but there are LOTS of unix-like os!
    linux, freebsd, darwin, solaris....
    apple failed to explain why mac

it just works?
    does it?
    both hardware and software problems are widespread:kernal panic, bluescreen in installing leopard, freezing.... I can accept this. But what annoys me is that problems appear AFTER an update.

iLife?
    I have tried it, it's nice, but I'm not sure how it is better than its substitutes (like F-spot...)

I see no reason for buying a mac, but 1 reason against it: hardware - its ridiculously priced macs with ridiculously few choices

can anyone convince me to get a mac?

thanks in advance

2. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

gauchogolfer

No one wants to convince you to do anything. Think for yourself, then decide what works for you.

kthxbai

3. maxrobertson macrumors 6502a

Why would you want us to convince you to get a Mac? It's not like we get any benefit out of it. You just get to enjoy Windows or Linux if you don't.

4. icecone thread starter macrumors regular

there must be reasons for so many people to love macs
    if it's really that lovely I wouldn't want to miss them
    please

5. dXTC macrumors 68020

dXTC

icecone,

As gauchogolfer and maxrobertson said, there is no reason for us to try to convince you to get a Mac.

Some of the negative points you make about the Mac experience are valid: OS freezes, kernel panics, etc. However, these happen with virtually all systems, in some fashion.