Why MBP mid 2010 17" with EI Capitan is so slow?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hajime, Jan 20, 2016.

1. hajime macrumors 68030

Hello, I have been using 15" rMBPs for the past four years. Seldom used the 2010 17" (8GB RAM). For the past few days, I started to use it as my main computer. I found it slow. Updating from Snow Leopard to EI Capitan does not help. I read that there is a bug in Mail which slows down the system but I checked activity monitor, it is not on the list of CPU usage. I also don't use that app. Why the machine is slow slow? Is it because I get used to use the rMBPs with SSD?

2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

That's exactly right. You get used to the much quicker response of the SSD. For some folks, going back to a spinning hard drive is almost painful.
    If your 2010 17-inch is now your main machine, it may be worthwhile to change out to an SSD. The system will be much faster as a result. The SSD is limited to SATA2 speeds in your MBPro, so still not as quick as the rMBPro that you may have been using, but still a nice boost.

3. hajime thread starter macrumors 68030

From youtube videos, it looks like SSD vs. HD is about twice as fast. How about SSD @ SATA2 speeds vs. the SSD of current systems. Is the speed different noticeable?

4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

The difference would depend on what you do with your system.
    Anything that you do that accesses the hard drive will be faster with the SSD.
    There will be some difference for you as the SATA 2 will be more or less half the speed of SATA 3, and much slower on the newer systems that use PCIe bus for the SSD.
    The SSD speedup will be much less noticeable when you do tasks that mostly use the CPU/GPU.
    That does not mean that you will always be aware of an SSD that is somewhat slower. The rest of your system also won't be as quick as a newer system, as your chipset is about 3 generations behind current Macs.