Why not both

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by vmachiel, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. vmachiel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #1
    So i was looking into buying a new mac mini. But i was wondering: why can't you get both the quad-core and the discrete graphics?
     
  2. kerplunknet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #2
    Apple must have decided that having less cores, but higher frequencies was a better way to go for non-professional/server users, while also taking the less expensive price into consideration.

    My opinion is that having the discrete graphics over more CPU cores (at a lower frequency) is more worth it and less expensive.
     
  3. thunng8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    #3
    Most likely heat reasons. The Quad core is quite a lot hotter than the dual core and a quad core + discrete graphics is too much heat for mac mini's cooling system.
     
  4. philipma1957, Jul 21, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #4
    lack of an adequate psu. you need more then 85 watts. The quad uses 45 watts the gpu uses 15. it does not leave enough overhead for hdds fan usb ports fw800 port etc.

    if you make a 110 watt psu and put it in the mini too much heat. see my brick psu for christmas thread:


    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1191667

    If I gave you an i7 quad 2.3 and a good gpu, but you had to have it with the brick psu would you want that for 899. Apple could put that out for christmas 2011 no problem. It would make sense as it targets gamers it could be the gamer mini option. Apple wants new people making this for christmas 2011 would be very smart .
     
  5. phyrexia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #5
    Because a 'server' will never need a fancy graphics card.
     
  6. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #6
    They could have still made it a BTO option.
     

Share This Page