why Safari?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mayoko185, Jun 18, 2007.

1. mayoko185 macrumors member

First off im not trying to throw up flame bate here, just want some honest opinions :)

I'm fairly new to os x here and im a long time firefox user, and I honestly dont see any benefits safari has over firefox. The only thing I can think of is safari is "faster" which for me is a no-issue as I have a fast connection. A few things that keeps me on firefox pretty much are its addons (AddBlockPlus, NoScript, Cookiesafe, Session Manager etc), does safari have similar addons or addons at all? Just trying to fish for some + Safari has over firefox as at this point I see none ;)

P.S. I normally would just never use safari and continue on with firefox but I read that there are like 4+ million Safari users, and the only thing I can think of why is because it just there (kinda why so many people use IE :p)

2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

iMeowbot

Lots of people like Safari exactly because it isn't loaded down with a bunch of extras :)

That said, there are several hacks around that patch all kinds of extra features into Safari.

3. SkyBell macrumors 604

SkyBell

Safari does have some add-on's, although not nearly as much as Firefox. I use Firefox on my Intel Mac Mini, but I use Safari on my iBook G3. Safari tends to crash less and just all around interface with OS X better then Firefox. However, when I have the processing power of my mini, the add-ons just do it for me, as I also used Firefox on a PC. :)

4. FadeToBlack macrumors 68000

FadeToBlack

There's lots of reasons, but here are a few of mine:

It renders pages noticeably faster than any other browser on the Mac, in my experience.

It looks much cleaner than Firefox and the interface just feels better overall. It has that "Mac feel" to it. Safari is also quite a bit more responsive than Firefox.

If you want plugins for Safari, check out Pimp My Safari.