Why upgrading Mac is so easy while Windows is another story?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by hajime, Jan 22, 2016.

  1. hajime macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #1
    Hello, I change macbook pro almost every two years. In each case, it is very easy to use migration assistant to move all the stuffs from an old machine to a newer one that has more advanced hardware. (Haven't tried the other way around. Will it be as hassle free?)

    As for Windows, as far as I recall, even upgrading the RAM on the same machine caused problem.

    Why it is so easy to upgrade from one Mac to a newer Mac? What has Apple done to make it a very simple and hassle free task?
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Standardised hardware, standardised drivers, less fragmented ecosystem - these all help.
     
  3. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #3
    I spent some time doing computer repairs and upgrades professionally, and I've never had to do anything except plug in the RAM and go - on ANY type of computer. Not sure why you're having trouble.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I upgraded my SP3 to Windows 10, it was stupid simple, and worked like a chime. Before that I upgraded it from windows 8 to 8.1. Again seamless and easy.

    Good luck on upgrading ram on a Mac, there's only two models that you have he luxury of upgrading, a Mac Pro and the 27" iMac.

    Overall Apple has done a great job, but to say that Windows is still in the dark ages with this, far from the truth.
     
  5. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Don't matter which way you go with it OSX and its unix base just works all drivers are included. Now where you will run into trouble is trying to use operating system that was released after the machine you want to put it on. Depending on whether the machine model check will allow you to boot from it as Apple does check for hardware it has abandoned and prevents it from booting. There are hacks that will allow older hardware to boot newer OS done by individuals on this forum and elsewhere the drivers are still there for the most part.
     
  6. AFEPPL macrumors 68030

    AFEPPL

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Never had any issues with one or the other - they are both fool proof and pretty seamless.
    Migration assistants exist for both platforms.
     
  7. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    So you have never run across that reactivation foolishness Windows does, find that hard to believe. Christ before EFI you could not even move the drive from one connector to another on the motherboard without it refusing to boot, I was shocked when it actually worked for me on EFI board..
     
  8. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #8
    You are comparing different things. Migration assistant helps you get your files, programs and whatnot from one Mac to another. When you buy a new PC, you are also buying a new Windows licence. What reactivation are you talking about?
    Are you asking about moving a Windows licence from one computer to another? If yes, then that's different because MS only sells the OS, the PC maker sells the hardware. MS makes their money from the OS so of course they won't let you use a licence on a different computer.
    With Apple, they sell both, the hardware and the OS so they don't depend on making money only on the OS.

    Time Machine and migration assistant are great tools, no doubt.
     
  9. Renzatic Suspended

    Renzatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Location:
    Gramps, what the hell am I paying you for?
    #9
    There was one time I had to do more than plug-n-go to get a computer to address a stick of ram. Admittedly, it was a weird, janky motherboard, and I had to flip some equally weird, janky setting in the BIOS to get it to see a pool of memory over a certain threshold.

    ...but it did happen.
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    The only time I had to deal with that, is on my Mac and even then, it was an easy solution. Call the number that was on the pop up window, read out the numbers. The automated process gave me a series of numbers to enter into my computer.

    Easy Peasy :)
     
  11. sliceoftoast macrumors 6502

    sliceoftoast

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Location:
    In a Toaster
  12. JamesMike macrumors demi-god

    JamesMike

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    I agree, upgrading to Windows 10 was a piece of cake.
     
  13. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    Some people may not have liked this feature but it was downloaded waiting for me, and I just hit the button and boom, its upgrading. Apple does this with their iOS updates.
     
  14. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #15
    As the OP replaces his Mac every two years, I doubt he'll have to worry!
     
  15. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #16
    There was a time when manually moving a program from one spot to another could break it in Windows, something to do with the registry, which I've always held in low regard. I wonder if this is still the case with W10?
     
  16. FX120 macrumors 65816

    FX120

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #17
    I noticed a small imperfection with my SP4 about three weeks after I got it. Before I returned to the store to exchange it, I ran sysprep and did a system image backup (built in utilities in Win 7+) to an external USB hard drive. When I got my new SP4, I just booted from a USB stick, and restored the computer from the system image I made previously.

    All my files, programs, settings, everything moved seamlessly to the new computer, with no licence issues.
     
  17. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #18
    That's like 1990, I can't remember the last time I had to deal with DLLs. Heck, its been at least a decade, maybe more. That includes maintaining servers, and enterprise applications.
     
  18. navaira macrumors 68040

    navaira

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #19
    The way I understand the OP they mean that it's easy to migrate one Mac install to a new machine without hassle. Is that really possible with Windows? I am about to build a relative a new Windows 10 computer and migrate all his stuff and I am looking forward to that as much as I am looking forward to having root canal without anaesthesia.
     
  19. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #20
    The download is only available if you clicked the pop-up indicating your acceptance. There would be no way to upgrade a 2 gig image from OTA; so it would have to download.
     

Share This Page