Wi-Fi only or 4G?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by highlights, Jun 10, 2012.

1. highlights macrumors newbie

I've read some of the general threads about this, but was wondering if anyone had thoughts on my specific situation.

I currently have an iPhone 4 and am thinking about getting an iPad3. I use my iPhone to make calls about once a week... if that. I do use it frequently to check my email, social networking, browse specific web sites, play the occasional game, etc. Most of the places I use my phone have Wi-Fi, but not all, and I do a bit of traveling where "free" hotel internet sucks or fancy conference hotel internet costs $15/day (um, I'm a poor grad student, and we cram 4 of us into those fancy hotel rooms!).

So, I can keep my iPhone, get a wi-fi only iPad, and I guess that would work. Seems like I could tether when I absolutely had to (i.e., those conferences or other travel).

OR I could sell my iPhone, buy a cheap pay-as-you-go phone which I estimate will cost less than $10/month in calls, and get an iPad w/ 4G and pay the $30/month for data. Is this crazy? It seems like that would cost *less* than what I have to pay now for the iPhone (since there are no cheap calling plans). Are there any big limitations I'm not thinking about? I already carry my macbook around quite a bit, and the iPad would replace that (getting an iMac for home, which is what is preempting these changes!), so I don't think there are too many times when I would want to carry just a phone and not the iPad... but maybe there are? And then if I can tether from my iPhone, maybe that is the way to go? See my confusion? ;)

2. sbddude macrumors 6502a

With the Verizon model, you can also tether from your ipad to your iphone.

3. iEvolution macrumors 65816

I would go wifi only, unless you do business or something that requires 24/7 internet access I don't see most using their ipad outside their house or wifi hotspots.