Wi-Fi Tethering?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Prolif1k, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. Prolif1k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    #1
    I'm sorry; I know there are a bunch of threads about tethering, but I couldn't find an answer to my specific question. Obviously AT&T isn't going to have tethering at first; however, will tethering work if I connect to one of the free AT&T wi-fi hotspots (like the Barnes & Noble near me) with my iphone and then use that connection to tether to my laptop?
     
  2. alansaysstop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    Roseville
    #2
    why wouldnt you just connect straight to your laptop?
     
  3. JRomero macrumors regular

    JRomero

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #3
    Because those particular hotspots are only free for iPhones.
     
  4. Prolif1k thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    #4
    They only work for iPhones. (not sure if they work for other AT&T phones as well) You go on the net on your phone and they send you a text message with a link to activate the free wi-fi. Trust me--I've tried entering the link/code on my laptop; it doesn't work.
     
  5. Prolif1k thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    #5
    eh never mind, I just did a more thorough search of Apple's website and found my answer. =( I really had my hopes up to get at least one tether spot for now since I go to Barnes & Noble pretty often to work on stuff. Oh well.

    Using iPhone as a Modem
    You can use iPhone 3G or later as a modem to connect, or tether, your computer to the Internet. You can connect iPhone to your computer using the Dock Connector to USB cable, or via Bluetooth.

    NOTE: Additional fees may apply. Contact your carrier for more information.

    Tethering works over the cellular data network; you can’t share a Wi-Fi connection to the Internet. If you have a 3G connection, you can make and receive phone calls while tethering.

    NOTE: To use iPhone as a modem with a Mac computer, it must be running Mac OS X version 10.5.7 or later
     
  6. citivolus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
  7. slapguts macrumors 6502a

    slapguts

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #7
    I did that exact same thing at a Starbucks the other day. Worked great.
     
  8. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    To use AT&T's wifi on your laptop, just change the MAC address of your AirPort card to that of your iPhone, and then sleep the laptop. Next, log into the wifi from your iPhone. AT&T will text you a unique link.

    Click on it from your iPhone. Now your wifi is activated for 24 hours. Then, disable wifi on your iPhone and connect to the AT&T hotspot with your computer and the hotspot will think the Mac is your iPhone since they both have the same MAC address.

    I do this at Barnes and Noble all the time.
     
  9. retroneo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
  10. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #10
    Solution:

    Change your browser to spoof its user agent to Mobile Safari.
     
  11. Prolif1k thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    #11
    Sorry, but how do you change your MAC address?
     
  12. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #12
    Side note: When connecting to the hot spot with 3.0 it is automatic now. Connects instantly. Really nice.
     
  13. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #13
  14. velvetelvis macrumors 6502

    velvetelvis

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #14
    and how would i do that?
     
  15. velvetelvis macrumors 6502

    velvetelvis

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #15
    dont you need to jailbreak to use pdanet?
     
  16. John.B macrumors 601

    John.B

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Holocene Epoch
    #16
  17. macjram macrumors 6502a

    macjram

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    #17
    How about now, with the new Java update ? :D
     
  18. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #18
    That used to work, but AT&T got wise to it. They only identify you by the MAC address though, so it's not too difficult to get around that.
     
  19. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #19
    coffee shops that don't offer free wifi are lame. Coffee Bean is the place to be.
     
  20. John.B macrumors 601

    John.B

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Holocene Epoch
    #20
    Still not happening. Note to my fellow developers, that "write once run anywhere" Java tagline from Sun was a load of crap.

    If Starbucks didn't put limits on their WiFi, there would be people there who would hang out forever. Simple as that.
     
  21. citivolus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #21
    sorry, you are correct. I did take that for granted.
     

Share This Page