WiFi speed slower with iPhone X?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by t76turbo, Nov 5, 2017.

  1. t76turbo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #1
    I thought something was up with my router or modem so I updated firmware on my router, rebooted my cable modem, rebooted it all again, and then even called my ISP. While I was on hold I picked up my iPad Pro and ran a speed test.

    I am getting over 170mbps on my iPad and about 30mbps on the iPhone X. I had also rebooted the phone and switched between networks a few times with no change.

    Are there any settings that might be defaulted to something it shouldn’t?


    Has anyone else tested WiFi connectivity speeds?
     
  2. zzoomp09 macrumors 6502

    zzoomp09

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    nordern nu joizee
    #2
    Mine is fine. I think I need to replace my router too because this is just about 50-70% of my internet service's max speed.

    7+

    [​IMG]


    X

    [​IMG]
     
  3. _Refurbished_ macrumors 68000

    _Refurbished_

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #3
    No issues here.

    You could always buy a router to see if it fixes your problem, if not, return it. Most likely your equipment isn’t playing nice with iOS.
     
  4. andyw715 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #4
    My X is about 30% faster between device and router compared to my 7+ or iPad. As per WiFi SweetSpots app.
     
  5. Thor_1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    It is working fine with their iPad, so it's not iOS related. Could be the phone.
     
  6. _Refurbished_ macrumors 68000

    _Refurbished_

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #6
    Let me rephrase that.

    It’s iOS, on the iPhone X, not playing nicely with your equipment.
     
  7. pop2video macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    #7
    using airport extreme with ISP 1000mbps
    the iPhone X is only getting 9x Mbps
    but iPhone 7 plus is much higher

    not planning to get a new router but up for suggestions
     
  8. DiddlyDo, Nov 5, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2017

    DiddlyDo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    I’m getting similar numbers on my iPad Pro (1st gen), iPhone 7+, and iPhone X. Sometimes slightly faster or slower on each device, but all within approximately 10% of the speed achieved on the other devices. Side note - I was feeling pretty good about speeds around 200 mbps. If I was landing anywhere close to 500-600 mbps, I don’t think I would care either way. Damn!
     
  9. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #9
    No problem with mine. My isp is about 150 Mbps, and that is what I see on my iMac via ethernet, and my iPad and my X via wireless. Did you try a reset networks setting on the X?
     
  10. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #10
    Similar here.
    iPhone and iPad only has stream AC wifi. Meaning 866mbps theoretical, after protocol and encryption overhead... what you see is about all you get.

    Laptops too. The ubiquitous intel chipsets 7260, 8260 max out at 2x2.

    In the AC market, 3x3 laptop cards are rare.
     
  11. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #11
    Can a wired, fast PC speedtest 900mbps on your connnection.

    Airport Extreme tops out at 250-350mbps on routing performance, its trash, and Apple has abandoned staying current with home network speeds.

    I went with UniFi system of security gateway with hardware accelerated packet routing, switches and APs and they run 940/940 on our networks.
     
  12. pop2video macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    #12
    Yes, wired is over 800mbps on some devices.

    Thanks for the details!
     
  13. zzoomp09 macrumors 6502

    zzoomp09

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    nordern nu joizee
    #13
    On the Airport Extreme, I was able to get over 800Mbps wired.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. t76turbo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #14

    I have 11.1 iOS on my iPad Pro as well. Everything is working ok on it.

    I just tested it again. Signed onto the 5g

    No but will now. Just to see.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 6, 2017 ---

    Reset network settings and reran tests. Got a little better. 53.50 down and 23.54 up. Now something weird. I ran multiple tests on my ipad pro. I was getting in the 170's plus. Now all of a sudden I am getting in the 40's on the ipad too.

    So I need to look into the router I guess. But my laptop still is getting in the 170's on the Speedtest by Ookla website. None of this makes sense. I even turned off the iphone thinking somehow the ipad started using the hotspot connection from the iphone (even though I never turned the hotspot on).

    Just weird that it (ipad) was testing in the 170's at the same time and on the same network as the iphone was testing in the high 30's.


    Looks like this is more than just a iphone thing. So will look further. If anyone has any suggestions please share..
     
  15. Gmouse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Location:
    Lakewood, CO
    #15
    One thing to check, if you have a router where you have both the 5 GHz and 2.4 GHz bands setup with the same name and password (as most router directions suggest)...you are probably connecting to the 2.4 GHz band instead of 5 GHz band, thus the slower speed--you should be able to verify this by looking at the Network Map or whatever will show you exactly which band you connect to. I'm betting you move around your house you might see a connection to the faster band happen.

    In my case, I had an older LinkSys router and ALL my Apple devices (iMac, MacBook, iPhone 7+, iPad Pro) ALWAYS connected to the 5 GHz band, but...then I upgraded to the LinkSys EA9500, and now everything BUT my iPhone 7+ connects to the 5 GHz band, and it seems to usually connect to the 2.4 GHz band, but, every-once-in-a-while, connects to the 5 GHz band.

    I've got latest LinkSys firmware, latest iOS, tried removing and reconnecting to the router numerous times, with same result. Assume it's something with the "seek" that the iPhone uses to grab the connection, but, not sure.

    If it bothered me more, I might change the router so I have different name and password for each band, then lock the iPhone to the 5 GHz band...

    Anyway, just a thought...
     
  16. t76turbo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #16


    Thanks for the suggestion. I name my bands slightly different (just add _5g to the end for that band) so I know for sure I am connecting to the 5g network.

    But I agree, they do tell you to do that and even have a built in utility that if turned on and the bands are names the same, will route traffic appropriately. I have it turned off of course!


    My router is a high end router. The Netgear R7000 Nighthawk. Just in case that helps.
     
  17. Type4O macrumors 6502

    Type4O

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #17
    My Wi-Fi is significantly better on my X than it was on my 6.
     
  18. mjr1000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    #18
    Which model do you have? 1865 or 1901?
    --- Post Merged, Nov 6, 2017 ---
    Um, can you PLEASE tell us who your ISP is? Those speeds are insane! Wow.
     
  19. DNichter macrumors G3

    DNichter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #19
    No difference for me really, a little better on the X.
     
  20. zzoomp09 macrumors 6502

    zzoomp09

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    nordern nu joizee
    #20
    FIOS Gigabit on Airport Extreme
     
  21. mjr1000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    #21
    I have FiOS. Maybe need to buy AirPort Ex.
     
  22. _Refurbished_ macrumors 68000

    _Refurbished_

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #22
    I’d put money it’s your router. Head to Walmart, slap another router on your network and give it a go.

    If it works, you have two weeks (can’t remember the return policy for electronics) to figure out a solution. If you can’t figure out a solution, keep the new working router.

    That’s what I would do in your situation.
     
  23. nws0291 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #23
    Same setup here. USG and UniFi POE switch. Currently running Unifi AP AC Pro access points. Speeds are great.
     
  24. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #24
    Same here coming from the SE. WiFi and LTE speeds are better. I am not surprised considering it was a few years old.
     
  25. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #25
    Don’t do it, Extreme still works reasonably well... but is a dated product, and outside support cycle.
     

Share This Page

26 November 5, 2017