Wii System Update

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by Sky Blue, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #1
    stolen from gaf:

    hope no one modded their Wii!
     
  2. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #2
    Thanks. I noticed the clock, but wasn't sure what else they had changed.

    <]=)
     
  3. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    about a week ago. s**t :(
     
  4. Sky Blue thread starter Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    For What it's Worth, a couple of people on GAF say they've updated with a Wii key and it hasn't affected anything.
     
  5. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #5
    Ooooh - downloading later. Glad to see they took my clock on the menu idea seriously (is it also on the in-game Home menu too?).
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Thank's mate. I was scouring the net trying to look for anything like that. I'll give it a shot later when I'm home from work and let you know if I have a wii or a brick :D
     
  7. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    I'm updating mine now, I skipped the whole bit where you told us whats been updated, Want to make it a surprise :D
     
  8. pcypert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #8
    MRU...you have a Wii Key?

    I'll graciously let you go first :)

    Paul
     
  9. Anorak macrumors regular

    Anorak

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #9
    I was wondering why the weather channel wasn't displaying the temperature, and only the moon when I was looking at it.

    Pretty neat update. I like the digital clock at the bottom.
     
  10. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #10
    Yes. It's a step in the right direction. But for me, the weather Channel still displays 5 hours old conditions for the current conditions.

    The current weather displayed in the main Weather channel window is thus pretty much useless. (Of course the blame probably falls on the weather service providing the data for Nintendo)
     
  11. rockthecasbah macrumors 68020

    rockthecasbah

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Moorestown, NJ
  12. progx macrumors regular

    progx

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Location:
    Western NY
    #12
    I'm having trouble getting the Weather channel to work in the Wii Menu. It doesn't prompt me for anything, not like the News channel does. Anyone know what I can do?
     
  13. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #13
    Anyone else find the new look similar to Leopard? It's very minimalistic huh.
     
  14. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #14
    Cool an update....I'll have to check this out when I get my wii back from repairs.

    How long does the update take?
    I haven't turned on my wiiconnect24 since it fried my gpx card so the weather channel never updated for me....I'll check it out though.



    Bless
     
  15. Aranince macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Kind of interesting they updated at the same time as Apple decided to have a conference.
     
  16. Antares macrumors 68000

    Antares

    #16
    We're beginning to see the fruits of the Nintendo-Apple partnership. It's simple enough to add two IR sensors/emitters to Apple displays....Full Wii Remote integration...can you imagine it? ...instead of those buggy efforts out there right now. Leopard with Wii support, iTunes synching with the Wii via bluetooth and/or wifi, shared storage, etc.. The prospects are quite exciting. :D
     
  17. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17

    Yep matey WiiKey with 1.2 firmware

    So what the heck I gave it a try and guess what





    I'm now the proud owner of a

    [​IMG]



    Oh and I also own a wii which still works still so I guess as long as WiiKey is at 1.2 it's ok - but I take no responsibilty - terms & conditions apply :p
     
  18. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #18
    Unlucky! I feel for you, but I'm laughing my sides off at the folk pirating games. I'll be removing the chip from my Wii now, as I'm keen on this new update on t'other Wii.
     
  19. progx macrumors regular

    progx

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Location:
    Western NY
    #19
    Nintendo and Apple, it is an exciting match maker. They both have the same philosophies and similar ideas. I wouldn't rule it out.
     
  20. Aranince macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #20
    Haha....that would be pure awesomeness.
     
  21. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #21
    Not to burst your bubble but you do realize that as a company Sony and Apple have a much bigger relationship than Apple and Nintendo.

    My microwave oven has a minimalistic interface, I bet whirlpool and apple must have talked!! Yes its about that absurd.

    Ed
     
  22. AppleGuy2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    #22
    hmmm, i have a modded wii (modded with homemade chip and yaosm code)...i updated and its running just fine. I just dont think ill update when the next update comes along. I'm wandering if my wii wasnt bricked because the update only blocks wiikey, wiinja and cyclowiz chips? because i dont think yaosm is that common. ugh.

    I am seriously considering removing my chip. Do you guys think i should?

    (i must add, i havn't tried to play a backed up game yet...i hope that doesnt trigger the bricking countdown!)

    Update: after a bit of reading from other sites about this update, ive found that pretty much everyone with a modchip who has updated has updated successfully. The only problem that has come up is an error message when those with a wiikey insert their config. disk. So far so good.
     
  23. pcypert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #23
    MRU,
    Dont' completely understand your wording. Do you have two with WiiKey's and one worked and one didn't or the one you have worked?

    Paul
     
  24. plinkoman macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #24
    I think he means he owns 1 wii, with wiikey, that he updated and it still works, and one actual brick.

    i.e: sarcasm
     
  25. steamboat26 macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #25
    It's been a while since an update, it'll give me a reason to boot up my wii and make sure its still works.

    *Goes back to waiting for more wii channels, wii ware, and Madden '08 for wii*
    :D
     

Share This Page