Will Apple fix the wifi issue with the iPads?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by bludodge, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. bludodge macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #1
    This is for those of us that have to constantly retype our wifi password. I read where someone thought this might have to do with the iPad sleeping and to extend battery life the iPads are "forgetting" the password, however mine also loses it when surfing the web. I am constantly having to retype my password. I do not have to do this with any of my MANY other wireless devices. I don't think it is a router setting issue. I have read apples router setting suggestion, and it doesn't apply to me. Does anyone else think this is a software issue? I am sitting here looking at my polished up iPad that I re-boxed so I can take it back to Best Buy. How long should I wait? Best Buy has a 14 day return policy, and I have 6 days left..........
     
  2. Sleazy E macrumors 65816

    Sleazy E

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    Disneyland
    #2
    Considering mine works flawlessly I am gonna go on a limb and say it's your router settings, not your iPad.
     
  3. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #3
    They don't have to all have an issue to be considered a problem do they. Why does everything else work on my system? Maybe I should try to exchange it, if the new one does the same thing, then I would say yes for some reason the iPads don't "like" my router. Other people are having this issue. Thanks for replying.
    Also for those that are not having issues, are you using an open wifi signal, or one that requires a password?
     
  4. hchavarria macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #4
    My iPad doesn't have this issue but my iPhone did and after some update it got fixed so I am going to go on the limb and say it will get fixed. The issue could be with certain WiFi routers which is why only certain people have the issue.
     
  5. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #5
    This software update (if there is ever one) will never be released in 6 days. I would say in a month at least so Apple knows what is the problem and do regression tests to make sure they didnt break anything. Remember, to update the iPad they have to release a complete new firmware, not just a small patch.
     
  6. CJS7070 macrumors 6502a

    CJS7070

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    I'm certain that it will be fixed at some point.
     
  7. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #7
    Thanks to all for replying, just sad about all of this. I wouldn't expect a fix in a week or so. I don't know what is all involved in doing that but if it was something like the iPad dropping the connection to save power, that seems like a quick fix, but like you said, I'm sure they gotta confirm the issue first.
     
  8. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #8
    Really torn about returning it. It is such a cool device, but typing the password over and over sure is getting old.
     
  9. matthewHUB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    #9
    why not have an open network and filter by MAC address? until they sort out the issue
     
  10. ippikiokami macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #10
    While all things point to an issue that can be fixed by firmware why would you want to do all these workarounds for a device you bought for 499$??
    I mean having wifi is one of the essential things of it's functionality.

    I would even venture to say return it now and wait until there is an official patch. There is always the chance that it could be a hardware issue with your particular ipad.
     
  11. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #11
    That will keep anyone else off right? Sorry. new to all this.

    In the past, everything else of mine worked. Wii, PS3, Powerbook, visiting family members with laptops and iPhones. Just the iPad is giving me grief.

    Thanks for replying
     
  12. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #12
    Thats kinda what my gut says, its just gonna cost me $90 in return fees. "stupid tax" for being an early adopter I guess.
     
  13. HengenJL macrumors 6502a

    HengenJL

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #13
    For those constantly having to re-enter their passwords, wouldn't it just be easier to enter your passwords into the Notes program then just copy and paste the password into "password" window when it pops up? at least that's the way I would do it, though thankfully I am not having any network issues...
     
  14. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #14
    Well no, thats just one more thing to have to do. Funny (not really) but now many of us now have that long passcode memorized. A gob of numbers and letters that nobody should have to have memorized. Of course I could go in and change that to something easy, then go back into ALL of my other devices and change them. It just really sucks having to do all of this to make the iPad work flawlessly like everything else.
     
  15. timotheezz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #15
    that's what I've been doing and it's not exactly convenient. will they give me a new one if i reproduce issue at an apple store?
     
  16. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #16
    I'm guessing it won't act up at an Apple store. I have thought about this as well. there is no rhyme or reason as to when it does this, as you well know. Please I am afraid that everyone at Best Buy or Apple is just gonna think you are trying to scam into getting a 3G or something as for the reason for the return. If that came up, I thought about saying "Ok then lets go look at all of my posts since last Saturday where I have mentioned this issue".
     
  17. PhoneI macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #17
    I would first like to say I love my iPad and there is no way I'm returning it. However, my Wifi is getting me fits. It asks for my WEP key over and over and usually doesn't accept it. At other times my Wifi drops for no reason at all.

    My iPhone has no such issues. I am certain there will be a software update soon to fix. I will patiently wait.
     
  18. ob81 macrumors 65816

    ob81

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #18
    What problems with the iPad? Steve jobs said that it was an issue with the routers. Right? You guys listen to everything else he says, but when he says something you don't want to hear, you go dumb.
     
  19. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #19
    Plus the Apple store is an Open wifi so I don't think it would be a true comparison.
     
  20. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #20
    Well I have read that release, and what it talks about are the dual band routers, etc. Have you read it? That is not OUR issue here. It isn't about it NOT seeing the wifi, it IS about constantly having to retype your password. "Us guys", WFT, I just want my $600 device to work, too much to ask?
     
  21. musicman0725 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #21
    Don't use WEP

    It's been stated in other threads that the forgotten password issue is with wifi networks using WEP protection. If you switch your router settings to use WPA, this issue should go away. For what it's worth, WEP is very old and can be cracked in 2 minutes. If your router supports it (most do) you should use WPA or WPA2 as it's much more secure.
     
  22. ippikiokami macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #22
    What?

    So if this routers works with everything else in my house

    PS3, Iphone, Macbook, Netbook, Even my Eyefi SD card ...

    And it doesn't work on the iPad

    Of course it's my routers fault!
     
  23. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #23
    Thanks for getting back. I only questioned this because under my router settings it states WEP is "recommended". So if i swap over to WAP or WAP2 (which is better) my problems should go away?
     
  24. bludodge thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #24
    Exactly, thank you.
     
  25. jim.arrows macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #25
    I'm using WPA2 and have the same issue, so it's not a "WEP" issue per se but it may be a general encryption issue that's not seen when using an open (unencrypted) wifi network.
     

Share This Page