Will HomeKit commands work with no hub at home?

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by tupshall, Oct 11, 2017.

Tags:
  1. tupshall macrumors newbie

    tupshall

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    #1
    If I were to take my iPhone and iPad (used as HomeKit hub) on vacation with me, will the current events setup within the Home App continue to work or does this require a hub to be inside the house. I know that remote control will not work without the hub.
     
  2. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #2
    I believe anything activated under the automation section of the Home app requires a hub.
     
  3. wesley96 macrumors 6502

    wesley96

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #3
    The device acting as a hub must remain in the house for the automations (events) to work. There’s not going to be a device to issue the command if it’s out of the house.
     
  4. tupshall thread starter macrumors newbie

    tupshall

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    #4
    Yea, that's what i thought. To bad the commands are not issued from your iCloud account.
     
  5. wesley96 macrumors 6502

    wesley96

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    #5
    That would be technically impossible for many of the HomeKit-exclusive devices (e.g. Elgato Eve, which uses BTLE communication) because they don't have a way to directly access the internet - hence the hub.
     
  6. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #6
    Which devices specifically?

    Many HomeKit devices also have native apps that work through their own hubs or directly. For example you can use Philips Hue and/or Ecobee through their own apps and they can setup on their own routines.
     

Share This Page

5 October 11, 2017