Will Leopard be this much faster?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Daringescape, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. Daringescape macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #1
    I have a friend that is a PC guy. He just got a new machine (I am not sure of the specs) He is running Vista and photoshop CS3 opens cold in 3 seconds.

    On my Macbook Pro core duo with 2 gigs of RAM it takes at least 10-15 sec. to open PS CS3. He says that Vista is just way faster than OSX.

    Whats up with that?

    I will still never switch, but I am kinda disappointed in this.
     
  2. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
  3. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

    J@ffa

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #3
    Not that I know much about PCs past the basics, but from what I've heard Vista eats RAM for breakfast. Photoshop is probably preloaded into RAM ready to blast off, and you'd get much the same result the second time you opened it on your MBP, obviously presuming you didn't restart inbetween!
     
  4. flipperanubi, Aug 28, 2007
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  5. Daringescape thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #5
    OK, I just emailed him and got the specs

    Core 2 Duo 2.4ghz
    8gb ram
    nvidia 8800gts
    10,000rpm 150gb raptor drive
    7200 rps 500gb sata drive


    Im Thinking the 8gb ram would help greatly.
     
  6. Daringescape thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #6
    I also have a dual 2 ghz G5 with 4 gigs of ram

    PS CS2 takes 10 secs or so on that one.

    Im trying to figure out what I would need to do to get my G5 even close to those speeds.
     
  7. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #7
    3 Seconds The Second Time On A 5GB 2.66GHz 10k Raptor MacPro

    PS CS3 on 2.66GHz MP with WD 140GB (net) 10k Raptor boot drive. First time takes 15 seconds to boot. Second time takes 3 seconds. Your friend is fooling you. ;)

    And YES, Leopard will be faster. :)
     
  8. thegrifman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #8
    That 10k rpm hard drive is helping quite a bit as well. No wonder it loads so fast, he's got a monster.
     
  9. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #9
    Leopard utilizes all 8 Cores. Tiger doesn't. Does Vista????
     
  10. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #10
    Your friend is just fooling you. There is no PC that fast, I have seen Photoshop CS3 booting on a Vista machine, and it took 10 secs to load.

    Even if that was true, the boot time of an application does not mean that an OS is faster from the other. Actually, even XP is faster than Vista in many occasions, so don't get fooled.

    You friend probably measures the boot time the second time he/she opens the app.
     
  11. xwilx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #11
    I believe this loading time is mostly related to the harddisk speed (and yes, how the OS manages the I/O does matter then). At this stage, your cpu is not computing much, but waiting to transfer the image from the HD to the RAM.

    On the other hand, I usually find PC's to be real fast with a fresh installation. The first few boots in windows usually are amazingly fast... but the speed degrade signifcantly over time. And this happens with applications too.

    I don't know if this also happens in OS X though. I am still fresh to the OS X.

    wil.
     
  12. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #12
    Yep, 10k raptor HD and 8GB RAM but that's on a desktop and you have a notebook so its not a fair comparison.
     
  13. Fukui macrumors 68000

    Fukui

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    #13
    How fast was it when you launched it a second time? Or a third? When it launches the first time, the system caches the applications, so subsequent launches are way faster. Even MS Word in rosetta launches in under a second or two the second or third time... try it!
     
  14. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #14
    15 secs the first time on my 2.2 and 6 secs the second time. Not bad for a notebook.
     
  15. AutumnSkyline macrumors regular

    AutumnSkyline

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    #15
    Took 26 seconds for photoshop on my iMac on the first boot (see siggy for specs) Not bad if you ask me ;). The guy was playing a trick on you, and CS2 will boot slower because it has to run through Rosetta. Vista is a RAM guzzling little bugger, I would be surprised if it boot in 30 seconds on my machine.
     
  16. nateDEEZY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    I don't doubt he's probably just fooling you, but why?! Heh, does he feel that bad about vista he feels the need to lie to a os x user just to make them feel inferior or question there OS's speed?
     
  17. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #17
    i think people's imagination is running too high, and too much baseless accusations already. there really is little fact to be debated, so let it rest.
     
  18. Daringescape thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #18
    My friend is really a good guy. I dont think he would lie/trick me with this.

    He did say PS loads in 3 sec the first time - I havent seen it, but have no reason not to trust him.

    He's not a MS fanboy - in fact he uses as many non MS programs as possible
    (ie openoffice etc)

    The reason he uses PCs is because he already has the PC versions of the programs he needs and he claims he can build a PC for a lot cheaper than he can get a Mac. (true when you look at his specs and figure he put the thing together himself)

    I wasnt trying to start a flame war or anything
     
  19. Parsec macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    N53 E004
    #19
    Well, I can tell you a thing or two about Windows as I was am a switcher myself. I had XP running well on my computer. It was pretty stable and pretty fast. The way I managed that was having a fresh install at least once a year, defragment frequently, sweeping the disk for unused files, cleaning the registry frequently, installing as little as possible, keeping drivers up to date, keeping up with ALL those (security) updates, etc etc etc.

    With pretty stable I mean that it doesn't crash often, but regularly.

    I have an iMac for over a year and a MacBook Pro 17" for almost a year. I have never defragmented. I have never re-installed the OS, I have been keeping up with the occasional updates. I've had my iMac turned on at home 24/7 for over 3 months while I was in Afghanistan (so that I could log on at home). And it never ever crashed during that period, or even need a restart.

    Since I switched, I have experienced system freezes though, but they hardly ever happen. Do not confuse that with program freezes. I've had some programs freeze up on me regularly (mostly open source/freeware), but it never takes down the whole system.

    Bottom line: Windows is blazing fast when you have a clean installation. As soon as you install a (mandatory) Virus scanner, you can feel the performance hit. After you install Office and PS, you'd barely recognize the system anymore.

    OSX on the other hand still starts as fast as it did, works as fast as it did and is still as stable as it was. Although OSX isn't perfect: No way that I'm going back to Windows! It's just so much better and easier to work with! Even my wife is very happy with it!

    Let's just hope they can keep it that way.

    It's not fair to compare Vista installed on a monstrous (Desktop) system with a notebook (though high end amongst notebooks) that doesn't have nearly the specs that the desktop system has. Try and comparing it with a MacPro with 8 Gigs of mem and a 10k rpm disk. That would be more interesting.

    :apple:
     
  20. tilman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #20
    I don't have Photoshop CS3 on a Windows machine, but I know that various other Adobe applications on Windows improve start-up time by pre-loading some of the application at boot time. Acrobat for example adds a "Acrobat speed launch" entry to the Startup program group. You can also improve start up time by removing or disabling some plug-ins.
     
  21. Squareball macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #21
    On my mac pro (3ghz) with 9gb ram, Photoshop opens in 5 to 6 seconds.
     
  22. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #22
    mmmm. I doubt photoshop is pre-loaded in RAM when system boot. unless you can show some solid proof.

    however, you remind me a tech in vista called SuperFetch, which claimed that Vista will watch what users do and try to pre-load some part of app into ram to increase speed. NOT sure if this is an example, but even if so, this is a feature in vista, and a very smart design, IMHO.
     
  23. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #23
    This is what I was thinking might be making it launch so fast. When I tried Vista and PS CS3 on my Mac Pro it also launched very fast (but, so did it in Mac OS). The fast HDD and loads of RAM are also helping in this case.
     
  24. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #24
    I'm sure I read somewhere CS3 runs better on a Mac than a PC. Not sure if it was a claim or an actual fact.

    And who cares if it starts quicker? It's how smoothly and fast it runs. If I had an old Ford Escort that started its engine in 2 seconds, and you had a Ferrari that took 4 seconds to start its engine, doesn't make the Ford better does it?
     
  25. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #25
    Certainly not to the same extent, every time I reinstalled XP on my PC I immediately noticed the speed boost, this doesn't happen with my Macs.
     

Share This Page