Will Microsoft unveil Windows for ARM at CES2011? Update: YES

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by SmokeyRobinson, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. SmokeyRobinson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #1
    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-...ion-of-windows-for-arm-chips-at-ces-show.html

    Microsoft Corp., the world’s largest software maker, will announce a version of its Windows operating system that runs on ARM Holdings Plc technology for the first time, said two people familiar with Microsoft’s plans.

    The new product will debut at the Consumer Electronics Show in January, said the people, who asked not to be identified because Microsoft’s plans are confidential. The software would be tailored for battery-powered devices, such as tablet computers and other handhelds, the people said.


    So whats your bet?
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Good push. However, I might say a stupid one to try and push Windows (full blown OS) into a tablet. They already TRIED THAT and FAILED.

    Why not make a Windows edition (not light or starter) that can actually run and perform well? Is that so hard?


    Also, before *LTD* can say anything fanboyish. I will ignore your inane responses unless they are well reasoned and thought out.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    You and me both. I hope all manufacturers bring out heavy competition for the iPad. I seriously think Apple mocks people with those pitiful specs for RAM and else. I also strongly believe the iPad is priced higher than it should.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    I'm looking for a new laptop, finally.
     
  6. SmokeyRobinson thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #6
    Im really wondering what their actual plans are with tablets (besides pushing W7 tablets for now). Windows CE (New version might be the announcement), Windows 7, modified Windows 7, Windows Tablet based on WP7, or using Windows 7 until Windows 8 comes out.
     
  7. DarkestRitual macrumors member

    DarkestRitual

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    DC Met Area
    #7
    Well, if they don't they'll be terribly behind the 8-ball, so one would hope so! I don't think x86-64 is going anywhere for the time being, but if Windows wants to play in the mobile world (i.e. new markets), then they're going to have to get to work!


    Of course it's overpriced. It's the first of its kind (in the modern day anyway running a touch OS, the Newton was a predecessor), and it had the super hyped Apple WOW factor to add to it. The next revision will hopefully lower price points and increase the specs, just like most second revision products do.
     
  8. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    He doesn't appear to be posting, so I'll cover for him.

     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Probably because most people have put him on their ignore list. As for the quote, that's spot on :D
     
  10. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #10
    LOL, that's a flawless impression! :D
     
  11. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    You sir, have won +10 Internets for that.
     
  12. SmokeyRobinson thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #12
    LOL. Spot on
     
  13. *LTD* macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    That would be too easy. Given that it's the *obvious* thing to do, count on MS to totally miss it.

    Watch for the new WebOS tablet by HP. Only one problem: HP is involved. But there might be hope for them after all (even *if* WebOS is part of that Pam Pre epic failure): they dumped Windows.

    Really, folks, none of this makes any damn difference. Until MS is under new management they will continue to underwhelm in all the areas that matter.
     
  14. Stella macrumors 604

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    LTD, didn't take you too long to continue your role playing acting as a Apple fan boy!

    So, talking about obvious items: so, where's the front facing camera on the iPad 1? That was totally obvious item to include... but Apple totally missed that one!
     
  15. *LTD* macrumors G4

    *LTD*

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    Didn't need one. Apple can get away with "missing" features when their first-gen device changes the market almost completely overnight. See iPhone. These devices (most of which come from Apple) are understandably held to a different standard.
     
  16. Stella macrumors 604

    Stella

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    Right.... the iPad didn't need a front facing camera but the latest Touch did... ROTFL. Funny post.

    Keep up the role playing "fan boy"!
     
  17. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #17
    The problem isn't a "full blown OS". Technically, an iPad has a "full blown OS", there's just some artificial limitations placed on 3rd party for API support. Apple has access to the whole she-bang and they use it for their own apps, which makes them quite usable.

    The problem isn't Windows on a Tablet, the problem is explorer.exe on a tablet. It's the UI.

    Also, why does this have to be about tablets ? ARM processors were around before tablets, they will be around after tablets, they can be used in a multitude of devices. Netbooks, Nettops, appliances, name it.
     
  18. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    Well, in retrospect, the iPad uses a larger scale of the iPhone OS. (I refuse to call it iOS) However, it is right, as far as we are concerned it is a full blown OS; just that it has been optimized to run on the hardware given.

    explorer.exe should have been rewritten completely before Vista was released. I think that's the biggest bloat ever.

    Given the recent push in mobile, and that almost all mobile devices run on some sort of ARM derived SoC, then it makes sense to think Microsoft's push on ARM is to compete in this sector.
     
  19. OllyW, Dec 23, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2010

    OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #19
    Ok roadbloc, you can stop taking the piss now. It's only funny the first time. ;)
     
  20. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #20
    Larger scale ? My computers have been able to run at different resolutions since the early 80s. iPad uses the same OS, it just runs at a different resolution. For a while, it used a version of the OS that wasn't available on iPhone/iPod Touch. There's nothing larger scale about the OS on iPad.

    As for explorer.exe, how is it bloated ? It's just a bunch of icons and a menu bar. And what does that even have to do with the conversation about the fact that it's not a good UI for tablets ? Heck, nothing is stopping you from just running Progman.exe instead as your UI, plenty of info out there on how to change the default UI executable in Windows and Microsoft still shipped Progman (Program Manager, which is the early Windows GUI, think Windows NT 3.1/3.51) last I checked.
     
  21. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    The ability to set progman.exe as your default windows shell was removed in Windows 2000 sp2.
     
  22. jav6454, Dec 24, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2010

    jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #22
    And with that, your entire argument is voided.

    Also as per "larger scale" I don't mean screen resolution. I mean actual OS usability code amount and features.
     
  23. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    It doesn't stop you from setting any other capable program as the windows shell. There are plenty of windows shells out there, windows 7 ready and ready to use. You can't use progman simply because it and all of it's dependencies were removed in SP2 of Windows 2000, and no other version of windows beyond 2000 has the ability to run it due to it being 16bit.
     
  24. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #24
    Name a good one then.
     
  25. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #25

Share This Page