Will SSD MBP 2010 I7 work in new Mac Pro 3.2 Quqd Core?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ejosepha, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. ejosepha macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #1
    I am purchasing a new Mac Pro 3.2 ghz Quad Core. I am currently working with a new MBP 17" I7 with an OWC SSD. Can I easily use the same SSD from the MBP and just insert it into the Mac Pro and use it as the Boot Drive or will I have to erase it and re-install it? I know that it is a 2.5 and that I will have to put it into a 3.5 case but would like to know if it will easily work in the new Mac Pro as is? Or if not, what must I do to use it in the new Mac Pro?
    thanks
     
  2. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #2
    erase it partition it and reinstall. use mac pro discs to install

    not macbook pro discs/ if you have data on the ssd (that you want to save) clone it to another hdd to save it.
     
  3. ejosepha thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #3
    I moved this SSd from another MBP to the current one. Can't I just move it to the Mac Pro or is it not compatible and I will simply have to start from scratch? I have everything on TimeMachine backed up from the current MBP.
     
  4. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #4
    Should work fine however I'd reinstall anyway, fresh starts are always nice.
     
  5. ejosepha thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #5
    I suppose with the 2.5" drive I would have to buy a conversion to the correct size for the Mac Pro? Also, I was just wondering if the interface of the drive with the MBP would be different than some interfaces with the Mac Pro? For instance, if I just first use the 1T HD that will come with the MacPro and transfer on start-up from the Time Machine backup from the Macbook Pro, will the adjustments, what is needed, be made in the transfer? Or will I be overlaying a MBP system on the Mac Pro? It's so much easier for me with accounts, Itunes, mail, and photos to just transfer everything, if possible.
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    You would need to performance an Archive & Install with your Mac Pro installation disk to ensure your boot volume has the right drivers.
     
  7. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #7
    That's absolutely correct. The MBP boot drive will NOT work in a MP. Don't even waste your time trying.

    JohnG
     
  8. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #8
    How does Firewire Target Disk Mode work then if the MBP doesn't have MP drivers and visa versa?

    I've never tried it but I think a little test via USB is coming up.
     
  9. Dzokayi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #9
    What the OP would like to do will work just fine, provided that the MBP is current with software updates. I do this all the time in testing, and happen to have done it recently with this specific configuration.

    That said, best practice is to do as others have advised: archive and install.

    Back in the day when Bluetooth and WiFi were optional on Mac Pros, you might notice a few oddities, such as the aforementioned icons in your menu bar, even though those options were not present in your Mac Pro. Would it boot and function, though? YES. Would I permanently run a system this way? NO.
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    I recently used a Mac Pro 1,1 (2006 model) with a 2009 MBP via starting the the MBP with Mac OS X 10.6.5 in Target Disk Mode and booting the MP from it and ran my applications from the MBP on the MP and I had no driver issues and System Profiler reported the MP's hardware correctly, even the missing Bluetooth module. I had no problems working with that MP with the CPU and GPU intensive applications I normally use.

    Btw, Target Disk Mode uses Firewire, it will not work with USB, therefore the outcry on message board in late 2008 when Apple omitted Firewire from the 13" Unibody Aluminium MacBook in 10/2008.
     
  11. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #11
    No I mean booting my MBP HD [In a USB enclosure] via USB on the Mac Pro ;)
     

Share This Page