will the Apple Remote work with the new Macbook Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by animatedude, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. animatedude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  3. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #3
    I don't think it has an IR sensor. I may be canceling my order, because I do a lot of Keynotes.
     
  4. animatedude thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
  5. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #5
    Can't you use your iPhone/iPod touch with a remote app? Should work just as well.
     
  6. animatedude thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
  7. dimension6 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #7
  8. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #8
    Apple is encouraging the use of the iPhone Keynote app, so no remote required.
     
  9. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #9
    I decided to use an old iPhone because the Air can just create a wireless network which I can connect to.

    Still mad, but I can deal. Also the lack of a backlit keyboard is still not sitting well with me, but I think I can live with it.
     
  10. animatedude thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #10
    for those of you who got the new Air please test wether the Apple Remote work with the Air or not and report here...using your iPhone when doing presentations will make you look like a fool.
     
  11. ccolaco macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #11
    Why does using your iPhone to control your presentations make you look like a fool? Its essentially proving the same function as the remote. I'm pretty sure your audience cares more about the actual presentation and less about what you are using to control it.
     
  12. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #12
    When people are looking at the remote in your hand during your presentation, you're doing something wrong.
     
  13. gri macrumors 6502a

    gri

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    New York City, aka Big Apple
    #13
    Always thought that way as well - but what ultimatly counts is the (in my case) the science, i.e. the content of the presentation, not the form factor. The latter might help but not if the content is crap to start with.
     
  14. animatedude thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #14
    other people will load their presentations from my computer as well not just me.

    the omission of the IR sensor has been confirmed now by iFixit on the 11-inch but i'm still wondering if the new 13 inch has them...anyone can confirm?

    http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook-Air-11-Inch-Model-A1370-Teardown/3745/1
     
  15. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #15
    If you allow them to use your MBA I'm sure you can share a phone for 10-15 minutes as well. Or an iPod touch, or maybe they have one themselves. I agree though that it's too bad there isn't a remote option, but there are many workarounds that work just as well or even better. IR is crap when you're walking around a bit.

    And no, the 13" doesn't have remote either. There's no space on the front and it won't work properly on the side. There also isn't an option to buy a remote from the Apple Store when choosing the 13", indicating it just isn't possible with these Airs.
     
  16. Moodikar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I never thought ir technology was all that good. It's great for tv remotes but I like Bluetooth and wifi. Why not have a wifi remote. That'll probably be better and not have to aim a certain way.

    When doing presentations I use a d'san perfect cue. Those things are the pro stuff for going 50-100 feet away and never needing to aim at the laptop. Jobs uses it for keynotes... Mind you they cost $1000 but you can also buy the cheaper Logictec or Targus clockers for $100.

    Anyhow, IR was nice but not a dealbreaker.
     
  17. animatedude thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #17
    anyone care to share any reasonable workarounds that are easy and actually work? i want to use the Apple Remote..
     
  18. halledise macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #18
    nay - Apple Remote does not work with the newest model Airs

    however the iPhone will (for Keynote and also 3rd party software)

    do I look like a fool when using my iPhone to advance Keynote? - no, don't think so :cool:

    a remote is a remote, for feck's sake :D
     
  19. halledise macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #19
    thanks cherry - u r a legend indeed ;)
     
  20. drtimo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Surely guys...not a deal breaker.

    You can get USB presentation controllers for peanuts these days. They won't make your computer look bad either.
     
  21. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #21
    You won't look as much of a fool as you think. When people see you control your computer's functions with your iPhone they will see it as futuristic and another feature your iPhone can do. You're just being self-conscience for nothing.
    Also the iPhone as a remote is going through Wifi, the Apple remote is infrared, so you're wrong to say a remote is a remote.
     
  22. animatedude thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #22
    do you any will work with the Apple Remote? i really need help in this as i told it's a deal breaker for me.
     
  23. cjthebest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #23
    You could use this, but then you would look like a total fool.
     
  24. animatedude thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #24
    i read about this i just dont get it! is it just a USB thingy i plug in and that's it?
     
  25. animatedude thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #25
    help me get the Apple Remote work on the Air because it's deal breaker for me...

    any pix or videos shows how to get the Mira thingy work? or any other products?
     

Share This Page