Win/Mac game troubles

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by thoughtnerd, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. thoughtnerd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #1
    hey all - sorry if this isn't the right place to put this, but it doesn't seem like it fits anywhere else. I've recently bought a Win/Mac game through Amazon marketplace, something that alleges it works on both operating systems. When I open the game though, all it contains are .exe files. Are there drivers/patches or something I need to download? I've searched all over the Internet looking. Attempts to contact the seller have been futile. Any help you can all shed would be much appreciated.
     
  2. runebinder macrumors 6502a

    runebinder

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #2
    More info would be useful, like what game? Any Win/Mac games I've bought have been on disk or through Steam. The disk based ones I just ran in OS X and the installer started.
     
  3. thoughtnerd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #3
    hi, sorry, it's the 'Crazy Machines the wacky contraptions game'. also, sorry, should have added it's also a disc-based game.
     
  4. runebinder macrumors 6502a

    runebinder

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    So what happens when you insert the disk in OS X? Normally the installers should automatically start once the disk is inserted.
     
  5. thoughtnerd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #5
    I can see the DVD icon on my desktop, and then I wait for 5 minutes... nothing happens though, so I click on the icon. there's a lot of .exe files, and a couple of unix things. when I click on Unix, it tells me I don't have the program to open them though. (there's a list of stuff as you can see in the attachment)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #6
    All of those files are for Windows.

    Are you sure there's not a Mac app on the CD? Installers on the Mac won't autorun, you have to double-click on the CD and load it yourself.
     
  7. thoughtnerd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #7
    Nope, no Mac app at all. That screenshot I showed you is all that the CD contains, despite the CD claiming to contain Mac software. My Mac is new, and has all the most recent updates.
     
  8. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #8
    Does it actually say "Mac" on your CD? The only explanation I can think of is that the seller on Amazon Marketplace sold you a slightly different PC-only version, rather than the PC/Mac version Amazon sells.

    Check the manual? Contact the publisher?
     
  9. thoughtnerd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #9
    hey, yes it does, it actually says 'Win/Mac CD software'. Both the box and CD lists the Mac and Windows requirements.

    I've already contacted the seller, but they're not getting back to me. Then I tried to get in touch with Viva Media, the people who make the game and also haven't heard from them. Haha argh!
     
  10. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #10
    Are there installation instructions in the box?
     
  11. thoughtnerd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #11
    nope. all it says on the CD is to insert the CD into the drive, and then to follow the on-screen instructions to complete the installation. But there's no instructions that pop up.
     
  12. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #12
    reviews on Amazon have people saying it runs good on their Macs...

    thats really everything on the disc? everything? hidden files?
     
  13. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #13
    This situation should not be tricky or difficult. Usually when you put a hybrid cd in your Mac, the Mac installer will auto run or a .dmg (disk image file) will open on your desktop allowing you to drag the application to one of your hard drives, or in the list of files there is a "for Mac" text file that includes directions such as click on the Mac installer.

    If both the package and CD both say Mac I wonder if there is a possibility the publisher made a mistake and labeled some CDs (including yours) as Mac that are not? If you are unable to contact the publisher/developer, the other alternative is to contact Amazon and tell them you have a faulty disk. I think they will take it back.
     
  14. thoughtnerd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #14
    hey guys - thanks so much to all of you for your replies!

    doh123, yes, that's all it had... the CD even lists the Mac system specs.

    Huntn... yes, I've installed Mac games before in exactly that way. No such luck on this though. I'm inclined to agree with you on the mislabelling, there's nothing in there that suggests Mac program. The seller finally got back to me and said they don't do tech support - despite the fact that their ad said it runs on a Mac! Bah. Might just ship it back to Amazon at this stage!

    Thanks again all for your help :)
     
  15. Fnord macrumors member

    Fnord

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    #15
    Any chance you get two DVD icons on your desktop when you insert the disk? Possibly the second one with just a generic optical disk icon.
     
  16. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #16
    The publisher/developer? I would emphasize with them this would not be a tech support issue, but a faulty disk/packaging issue. I realize the dilemma with Amazon is that you could order another copy of the game and be faced with the same thing. In the Windows world when you talk of a faulty disk, it's not unusual for it to be blamed on incompatibility/conflict with your Windows hardware, but this is completely different. If Amazaon is willing accept multiple returns and I really wanted to play the game, I'd consider ordering another one.
     
  17. thoughtnerd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #17
    hey guys,

    @Fnord: nope, just the one

    @Huntn: Amazon has a good policy, it's just slow.

    Update to all of this... I ended up being able to show the seller the error of their ways, and that contrary to what they've been claiming, it wasn't actually Mac-compatible. They're issuing me a full refund, which is nice.

    thanks again so very much to all of you for helping me out :)
     

Share This Page