window user going Apple

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by N-Y, Sep 23, 2009.

1. N-Y macrumors regular

ok so, ive been using the same PC for the last 10 years.... currently on windows XP.... been waiting for a while to make the switch, new apple OS is out, new macbook pro look is out.... but the current hardware version has been out since june...

so im looking to get a macbook pro 17inch matte, would love to get SSD drive but for the price and storage, i plan to get the 7200rpm HDD 500GB HDD instead.

so long story short, what is the current processor is apple using on the macbook pro, and which ones should we expect at the next update? and is there a big difference between each processor.

if your wondering what i plan to do with my computer, i dont do graphic design, i plan to use it for mostly for web browsing, chatting, watching high quality videos, storing my pictures, just the basic stuff.

and my last question, if i decide to opt out for the 15inch, would i be able to have full resolution like the 17inch if i were to plug it into a Apple LED cinema display?

2. jav6454 macrumors P6

jav6454

MacBook Pro 17" uses the P9600 or the T9600 (2.8GHz, 6MB L2 cache and 1066MHz FSB). Also, the difference is noticeable only to those people who encode or decode media a lot (movies). Day to day things, no, there is not much of a difference. Next update is more likely to be a CPU upgrade than anything else.

As for screen, the 15" has a 1440x900 resolution vs the 17" 1920x1200 screen resolution. Yes, the 15" can handle the 24" monitor without problems at the highest resolution of the 24" LED display. The MacBook Pro distinguishes its own display and the 24"'s display.

3. N-Y thread starter macrumors regular

MacBook Pro 17" uses the P9600 or the T9600 (2.8GHz, 6MB L2 cache and 1066MHz FSB). what about the 15inch what does that use?