Windows 7 and XP Mode

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by McShizzel, May 6, 2009.

  1. McShizzel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    yea im presuming they come with it, they are identical chips. the thing that you should be asking is

    "is VT still supported even though the BIOS is emulated?".

    im guessing it still is.
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Currently the only models without Intel VT are the 2.0GHz White MacBook, the entry level Mac Mini and the entry level 2.0GHz Al MacBook.

    Those are the models not currently support Intel VT; however, older generations may not have this support as well.

    Edit - Follow this link to see which CPUs support Intel VT, then compare the model CPU in your Mac to the ones listed and your answer will be given... Click Me
     
  4. McShizzel thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
  5. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #5
    Sadly, the answer may be no (sorta - see below).

    The 2008 Mac Pros, for example, have hardware that is capable
    enough. But VT-x is not enabled when cold booting into Windows.

    The situation is as described below (one article concerns Linux,
    but it's still relevant):

    http://blogs.technet.com/mkleef/archive/2008/05/23/8-core-apple-mac-runs-hyper-v.aspx
    http://www.linux-kvm.org/page/Enable_VT-X_on_Mac_Pro_(Early_2008)

    You can getting it going by booting into OS X and then rebooting
    into Windows (apparently). That's an ugly solution though.

    I suspect that some other Apple machines may be affected similarly.
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  7. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #7
  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Yeah, sorry if this was about Mac virtualization and not Boot Camp.

    I do Virtual XP through a Boot Camp Seven RC.
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Course it does, you have an Octophallus Mac Pro.... my punny MacBook can barely stand against 2 of its cores...:(:(:(
     
  10. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #10
    That sounds good, then. Looks like 2009 MP owners may
    not experience the issue. You must be sure you didn't
    boot into OS X immediately prior to booting into Windows,
    though. As I mentioned, it must be a cold boot after the
    power has been switched off.

    For those that do have the problem, there may be a
    workaround. Googling about it seems that some VMWare
    software can set the necessary MSR register flags. And
    I found this:

    So it looks like all hope is not lost! Quickly running a small utility
    after booting should be a lot more convenient than having to
    boot into OS X first. Assuming, that is, the utility can be run
    at the right time to allow XP Mode to work.
     
  11. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #11
    I'll test it on my rev.a MacBook Pro (2.0 GHz Core Duo; the chip has VT, and Parallels and VMWare in OS X use VT,) when I get home. I have Win7 installed on my PC, but haven't put it on my MBP yet.
     
  12. jeevesofRKdia macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    While it seems that you have to "turn on" Intel VT, on my Unibody MacBook Pro, it works fine (no EFI required or other virtualization programs)

    W7 RC1, btw.
     
  13. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    Mmm... nope?

    I've always been able to do it with just a restart/Option hold.

    Am I supposed to only be able to do it cold? :D:p
     
  14. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #14
    Perhaps I haven't made myself clear. If you boot into OS X first
    and then reboot into Windows, it may be OS X that is enabling
    VT-x. That's why that method can work when a cold boot
    straight into Windows doesn't (on some machines, at least).

    Not everyone wants to boot two operating systems to get
    something to work in one, you know :)

    That said, it may be that Windows 7 is smart enough to turn
    on VT-x if it is unlocked and hasn't already been turned on.

    And finally, not all Macs may behave equally with regard to
    VT-x and whether or not it is enabled by the emulated BIOS.

    There is much to find out here. If anyone wants to give it a
    go, apparently CrystalCPUID can tell you if VT-x is enabled
    (although I can't confirm this as I haven't tried it myself):

    http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalCPUID/index-e.html
     

Share This Page