Windows 7 RC problem

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SamtheDrummer, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. SamtheDrummer macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #1
    Hello,
    I've tried downloading the 7 RC, I log in and it says 'test drive the windows 7 RC' with a spinning loading sign, but nothing happens it just keeps spinning.
    Can anyone help please?

    Thanks,
    Sam

    EDIT: I've now downloaded the RC, but how do I install it in bootcamp? Do I need to put the ISO onto a disk, the file is about 2.4gb
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    What browser are you using?
    If you are using Safari, try Firefox

    Some have had issues using Safari

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. 1ne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
  4. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
  5. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
  6. markojug macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    In A House, Ontario, Canada
    #6
    You could use Boot Camp, or use Parallels, VMWare ect.
     
  7. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #7
    Aye I would like to use bootcamp and ive got the ISO file but dont know what to do with it
     
  8. Christer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #8
    I just recently did this myself by following roughly these steps:

    1. Download the ISO.
    I started with the 64 bit version and tried to install it. The 64 bit version is installed on an ISO image that isn't directly compatible with Bootcamp though, which caused me some problems (Basically a dialog when booting the DVD which asked me about the CD-ROM type or something along those lines). There are apparently ways to make the 64 bit version work by reimaging the ISO into a compatible version. I simply couldn't be bothered to solve this, and simply downloaded the 32 bit version instead.

    In your case, I believe you have the 32 bit version since you mention the 2.4GB file. I think the 64 bit version was slightly over 3GB.

    2. Burn the ISO
    Right-click (or cmd-click) on the iso file, and open with "Disk Utility". In the app that appears, select the ISO image on the left side and click the "Burn" button on the toolbar at the top. Insert a blank DVD, and start the burning process. (I personally skipped the verification since I was anxious to get it working).

    3. Repartition your drive
    Make sure you have current backups of your data, as this can potentially crash your drive (Not likely, but better safe than sorry).

    Open the Bootcamp Assistant (Found in Applications->Utilities). Move the slider to create a partition for your Windows install. There are some limits built-in. I created a 75GB partition which is enough for my purposes. It takes a few minutes to resize the partition.

    4. Start the install
    Click the button in the Bootcamp Assistant that starts the installation process. Make sure you have the install DVD in the drive when you reboot.

    5. Installing
    You should end up with the standard Windows 7 installation window here. At the point where you select what partition to install on, you'll see one marked with "BOOTCAMP". This is the new partition you created in step 3.

    Now, Windows 7 will refuse to install on this partition by default, so you'll need to format it (There's a button or keyboard shortcut that allows you to do this). Picking the wrong thing to format here might mess up your OS X installation.


    That's pretty much it. The installation process is very straightforward after this. Most things work just fine straight up. I've not managed to get Bluetooth to work, and I updated the graphics drivers to the latest ones from AMD/ATI.

    Finally, you might want to make sure you have a USB keyboard at hand. My bluetooth keyboard (Logitech diNovo Edge) isn't recognised at boot-time, so there's no way for me to switch back to OS X without a USB keyboard connected. To save you some trouble looking it up, you switch between the different systems by holding down the Alt button at boot. This gives you a menu where you can choose to boot into OS X or Windows.
     
  9. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #9
    Right thats really helpful, but im stuck on burning a disk because ive only got a 700mb disk, so it wont all fit on?
     
  10. Christer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #10
    You seem to have a black CD. What you need is a blank DVD.
     
  11. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #11
    Right I've got it on a DVD, started bootcamp it loaded but when I chose the partition it was formatted wrongly so I tried to quit but now it only boots to windows loader. Holding options when turning on doesnt show leopard helllppp!!
     
  12. Christer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #12
    As I wrote in the step by step guide, you will need to reformat the partition you created. The installer gives you that option if you read the screen carefully.

    To switch back to OS X, you need to hold down Alt and not option. I connected my original wired keyboard directly to my computer to do this. Might work if it's connected to a USB hub as well though. It will not, however, work with a wireless keyboard (at least not a Bluetooth keyboard) so make sure you have a wired one.
     
  13. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #13
    Thankyou so so much it's started now so I'll leave a few hours to install.
    Thanks again
     
  14. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #14
    Right I'm getting there! Windows is now installed and I installed Rome total war but it says install direct x 9, I went on the website and downloaded it but it keeps saying install direct x. Any ideas?
     
  15. UnInvincible macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #15
    You need to install the drivers from your Mac Os X installation CD, just put it into your computer and it should start automatically.
    Right now you don't have your video card driver installed, which is why the game can't use direct x.
     
  16. 1ne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
  17. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #17
    It's true. For some weird reason Firefox works and Safari does not (at least on the OS X side).
     
  18. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #18
    I've installed the bootcamp drivers but direct x still wont work, do i need to activate it somehow?
     
  19. Chad H macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #19
    No, you don't. You should just install the bootcamp drivers and then let Windows 7 complete updating. It takes awhile.
     
  20. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #20
    Download the latest Direct X here. For whatever reason, Windows Update does not include Direct X updates.

    The package includes both DX 9 and DX 10.
     
  21. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #21
    Right im getting really stressed now, it just wont work!

    I've installed the drives off the OS X disk and that worked as the backlight, right click etc work.
    I've downloaded direct x, but the game doesnt recognise it.

    To quote it exactly 'Rome:Total War failed to find DirectX 9,which is required for the game to run. Please reinstall DirectX
     
  22. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #22
    Right thanks, ill try that
     
  23. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #23
    If you don't want to use Microsoft's website you can always torrent it. That's what I did and it was a lot faster than all my friends who used the website, I didn't have to go through all the download mangers and the speed was a lot faster. Perfectly legal.
     
  24. SamtheDrummer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #24
    Its not the downloading thats the problem, I've used that link and got the files + used the setup. It just doesnt work it doesnt think direct X is there
    :confused::confused:
     
  25. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #25
    Direct X? It takes all of 5 minutes to download. Why would you bother torrenting it when you can get straight from Microsoft itself at full speed?

    Direct X did installed yes? Did you try restarting after installing Direct X?
     

Share This Page